Four Tops – Shake Me Wake Me (When It’s Over)

Example

The Four Tops

Example

Happy Monday

I hope everyone had a great weekend and is digging Friday’s installment of Funky16Corners Radio.

At the risk of jinxing the situation, the humidity appears to have broken – at least for the moment – and the sun is out again. Unfortunately this meteorological upswing arrived after the end of the weekend, so I basically get to watch it through my window.

I should warn you now that my wife and I are expecting our second child next Monday, so next week is more than likely going to be filled with summer re-runs/”Best of” material, so I can do my duty as a loyal husband/father. I may post the occasional brief, but aside from that I’m going to be getting used to not sleeping again.

Rest assured, I have lots of great stuff in the pipe, including lots of new mixes, so bear with me.

Today’s selection is another one from the “I Can’t Believe How Much I Took This Group For Granted, Honestly.” File. Certainly, of the artists that pop up in this space, few are as well known or successful as the Four Tops. If you follow my antics with any regularity, you will have noticed that periodically I return to a previously worn groove. I do this – at the risk of sounding repetitive (or embarrassing myself) because usually it has to do with a slightly “larger” concept.

As a music lover and record fiend, I often catch the collector psychosis, in which rarity brings not only an increase in monetary, but also artistic value (dubious to be sure) stepping in when I listen to music. This results in many fine records, which popularity and drastic levels of overplaying on oldies radio have rendered, how do you say “familiar” (with the most pejorative meaning possible) getting the brush-off when they come on the radio. Many of these records are Motown sides, that for better or worse have gotten the “Big Chill” treatment, and as a result have become – for me anyway – all but unlistenable.

I realize that this is not the artists (or the songs) fault, and that my beef is with the homogeneity of commercial radio. As I often explain to my wife (who’s a little younger than I am) the vast majority of what gets played on “Oldies” radio, is the stuff that was lodged firmly in the Top 10 of its day, and that you rarely get to hear anything else that resided between #10 and #40. These songs were in fact hits when they came out, but because the America’s pop-cultural “memory” has been so warped by the funhouse mirror of commercially driven “nostalgia” (and the reliance of “Oldies” radio on the Pop top 10), that many great records are known today only to the people old enough to have heard them first-hand or collector types (like myself) who spend most of their time rooting around in the dusty attics (literal and figurative) of the world.

Anyway, the aforementioned issue kept me from properly appreciating the sounds of the Motown organization for many years. That this was foolish on my part is, sadly, undeniable. I can however say that the last few years have seen me endeavor to remedy this situation. This isn’t to say that you’re going to find me blogging ‘Stop In The Name of Love’ – a song that I’ve decided I just don’t dig – but that you shouldn’t be surprised if you see me singing the praises of groups like the Four Tops or the Miracles alongside people you’ve never heard of before.

That said, despite songs like ‘I Can’t Help Myself’ getting overplayed into oblivion, the Four Tops discography is filled to the brim with records that are so potent that they transcend their abuse at the hands of radio programmers, advertising executives and wedding DJs. One of the prime beneficiaries of the Holland/Dozier/Holland troika, the Four Tops – led by one of the great soul voices of the 60’s, Levi Stubbs – racked up a remarkable series of hits between 1964 and 1967*. Some of these, like ‘Reach Out I’ll Be There’, ‘Standing In the Shadows of Love’ and ‘Bernadette’ (one of my wife’s favorite records) are among the greatest soul records ever produced, taking Motown (and all of soul and pop for that matter) in new directions.

I first heard ‘Shake Me Wake Me (When It’s Over)’ not on the radio, but on a scratchy, flea-market copy of the Four Tops greatest hits that I scored as a teenager. It struck me the first time I played it as one of those “where has this been all my life” records.

Starting with the piano and bass drum in tandem, then the tambourine and Stubbs vocal, ‘Shake Me…’ busts open with a drum roll that takes the cry of anguish into a solid, danceable tempo. There’s a real “cry” in Stubbs’ vocal, and the backing of the Tops (and I think the Andantes) in the background is perfect. The melody is one of HDH’s best, and the arrangement, pushed along by strings and ringing vibes is brilliant (the key change in the second half of the song is beautiful), but the real standout here is the voice of Levi Stubbs.

I think that because Stubbs never recorded as a solo artist, he doesn’t get the respect he deserves. I suppose some of problem is that Motown is looked at as a kind of “hit factory” where the composers, producers, arrangers and band are often seen as equal contributors to the success of a given record (the same thing could fairly be said of many great Stax sides), and the singers end up looking like just another vehicle for delivery of the product. But I mean, really…give this track a couple of close listens and then honestly tell me that anyone besides Levi Stubbs could have delivered such a masterful, passionate performance (it is possible to make such a statement without denying the genius of the song itself, the two concepts are not mutually exclusive). I think you’ll agree**.

*I’m talking about the records that I consider remarkable. They obviously kept having hits after 1967…

** This said of course, noting that on the LP (this track is recorded from the jukebox EP seen above) ‘On Top’ almost the entire b-side is devoted to awful attempts at middle-of-the-road-ness like a version of ‘Matchmaker’ from Fiddler on the Roof. Despite the fact that the Four Tops did record jazz and standards before they signed with Motown, this unfortunate detour can be wholly attributed to the Motown organization, who pushed the same, ill-advised supper club dross on many of their hitmakers.

 Buy – The Four Tops Millenium Collection – on Amazon.com

14 Responses to “Four Tops – Shake Me Wake Me (When It’s Over)”

  1. JMT Says:

    Congratulations on the second child! Don’t worry about us–your family’s more important than my soul fix.

    The Four Tops were amazing–I can’t get over how funky “Standing in the Shadows of Love” is.

  2. Jeff Says:

    I second JMT’s post. Enjoy that crazy, special time. We’ll be here when you come up for air.

  3. Manolis Says:

    Hail to the incredibly lucky heirs of Funky16Corners!
    Larry, there are no words to express my utter admiration for the work you are doing! I have never met such a generous person in my e-life! Congratulations on your second offspring!
    You are the Soul Man Nr 1! You are the TRUE MINISTER OF SOUL!
    Greetings from your Greek Fan Club
    THanks

  4. red kelly Says:

    Don’t forget your Lamaze training there, Mr. G!

    (…and, yeah man, this is one of those songs that emanated from the car radio in my parents’ station wagon as we cruised mid-sixties America, and made me believe. As uncool as Motown is nowadays, I’ll tell ya that, at the time, it provided us suburban white kids with a glimpse, however bleached-out, into a world of soul we couldn’t even imagine… and all of that during the Beatles/Beach Boys/Stones hold on the top ten… amazing!)

    “…that kid is gonna be FAR OUT!”

  5. J Epstein Says:

    One remedy for the overplayed-Motown syndrome is to get hold of the two Cellarful Of Motown comps: both are chock-full of never-released Motown tracks that stand up tall with the best of the best.

    Makes it easier to come to them with fresh ears – no Big Chill Syndrome to worry about. . . . . highly recommended!

    Levi Stubbs never recorded solo, you say? Then what’s this 12″ of “Mean Green Mother From Outer Space” (from the “Little Shop Of Horrors” movie soundtrack) doing here?

    Levi was the the singing voice of Audrey II in the flick. Not something you’d automatically know, but certainly a highlight you might want to know about :)

  6. funky16corners Says:

    Thanks J! I forgot all about ‘Little Shop of Horrors’.

  7. J Epstein Says:

    PS : I visited my new neice Ruby today – she WAS born yesterday!

    Best of luck on your new Chickie Wah-Wah!

    -j

  8. rob Says:

    to me levi stubbs is right up there in the pantheon with otis redding, james carr, ov wright, marvin gaye etc. even some of their later work from the 70′s is pretty solid.

  9. NetInfoWeb 2.0 » SoulTrackin’ 07-31-06… Says:

    [...] And finally, we wrap up this edition of SoulTrackin’ with a pointer to Funky16Corners as he looks at The Four Tops, and Jeanne & The Darlings (produced by Isaac Hayes and David Porter). [...]

  10. Hank Says:

    Around 1983 or so, I saw the Four Tops (along w/ the Temptations) at the Rainbow Theater in Denver, expecting a perfunctory oldies show. Wrong. Even 15 years after their heyday, they were out of this world. As a live performer, Levi Stubbs was mind-blowing, giving his all to songs he must’ve sung a thousand times. The Tops blew the Tempts off the stage that night, and would’ve done the same to almost anyone — and I’ve seen Springsteen in ’78, the Clash in ’79, U2 at Red Rocks. Stubbs is indeed, “right up there” with the greats.

  11. pauline Says:

    I saw the Four tops many times in Engalnd….. the greatest group of the 60/70′s . I even saw them at the London palladium…. WOW!
    I have loved them since the early 60′s, and have most of their albums.Please tell me if Levi is still alive, as he is the voice of the four tops???

  12. pauline Says:

    I went to Tenerife , Canaries a few years ago, and the 4 tops were playing…. I was in my element! till they sung!!!! I stormed to the stage and asked this young lad if he was the four tops, which he replied yes! I said well you must have been 2 when I saw you at the Palladium!!!NO ONE can Imitate the sound of the 4 Tops. Levi had a voice of his own!

  13. pauline figg Says:

    I went to Tenerife , Canaries a few years ago, and the 4 tops were playing…. I was in my element! till they sung!!!! I stormed to the stage and asked this young lad if he was the four tops, which he replied yes! I said well you must have been 2 when I saw you at the Palladium!!!NO ONE can Imitate the sound of the 4 Tops. Levi had a voice of his own! He was the fourth top!

  14. Drew Says:

    Levi is definitely still alive, I saw him last night. He’s doing well. He’s in a wheelchair from a stroke, but has conquered diabetes, and is no longer a diabetic. He’s not stage ready, but he did seem very happy at the show to be surrounded by his friends and family.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

