I’m Back! b/w Funky16Corners Blog Second Anniversary Incredible Stupendous Blogtacular (People It’s Bad)

Example

It’s a celebration! Grab a Dr. Pepper…

Track Listing

1. King Coleman – The Boo Boo Song (King)
2. Lou Courtney – Rubber Neckin’ (Chick Check’n) (Verve)
3. Warm Excursion – Hang Up Pt1 (Pzazz)
4. Joe Haywood – (Play Me a) Cornbread Song (Kent)
5. Johnny Otis Show – The Watts Breakaway (Epic)
6. Chairmen of the Board – Since the Days of Pigtails (and Fairy Tales)  (Invictus)
7. Clea Bradford – My Love’s a Monster (Cadet)
8. JB’s – The Grunt (King)
9. Apostles – Six Pack (Kapp)
10. Laura Lee – Crumbs off the Table (Hot Wax)
11. Cyril Neville – Gossip (Josie)
12. Syl Johnson – Dresses Too Short (Twinight)
13. Preston Love – Cool Ade (Kent)
14. Sammy Gordon & The Hiphuggers – Upstairs on Boston Road (Archives)
15. Dramatics – Get Up and Get Down (Volt)
16. Interpretations – Jason Pew Mosso (Jubilee)*
17. Jeanne & the Darlings – Soul Girl (Volt)
18. Electrostats – 21st Century Kenya (Three Oaks)

To hear this mix, head on over to the Funky16Corners Radio Podcast Archive

Greetings all.
I have returned from the precipice, not of death, but ill health and discomfort, kind of like some lame, half-a-vampire, incapable of menacing anyone with his ratty cape and dull fangs.
Well, not really. What I had was called cellulitis. The short explanation being that my left leg got infected and blew up to twice the size of the right one, ending up looking like a twisted version of a honey glazed ham. The particular condition requires that the patient be admitted to the hospital and hooked up to IV antibiotics, as well as subjected to bad hospital food, boring television and constant prodding at all hours. For all the complaining I’ve done about losing sleep with the new baby, that was nothing compared to the gauntlet I was forced to run in the hospital. It seems like pure chance that I managed to get better at all. Fortunately, the infection subsided sufficiently that I could be released for rest at home. My leg is still swollen, but the fever, chills and possibility of gangrene (dare I say death) are gone. Now I basically have to spend the week with my inflated leg propped up on a stack of pillows (when I’m not going to the doctor).
I just wanted to say thanks for all of the well wishing (and muchos gracias to El Wife-O for taking dictation for last weeks post over the phone, as well as picking up all the child care slack in my absence).
Anyway, to the business at hand, that being that the second anniversary of the Funky16Corners Blog is upon us. If you’d have told me when I fired this thing up that I’d still be at it two full years later, I’d have chuckled warmly and cast upon you the gaze I reserve for the feeble minded. I never imagined that I’d end up loving this format so much, but as some greeting card level sage once said, life is full of surprises (as well as pixies, fairy dust, high car insurance rates and the occasional dynamite slice of pizza).
The last year has been an eventful one here at yon blog, seeing me pick up lock stock and barrel and move everything from the original home over at Blogger (where incessant technical problems forced my hand) to our present location, the bloggers Shangri La better known as WordPress. For a free service, WordPress has proven not only to be highly reliable, but user-friendly in the extreme. The individual blogger may not have the flexibility to dig in and roll around in the code in WordPress, but that’s not really what I was looking for. What I was in search of – and found here – was a clean, easy user interface that wasn’t going to crash every other day, and would allow me to get my artist picture and label scan(s) up without a Herculean struggle. If you’ve ever thought about getting a blog going, I recommend this service highly.
If you hadn’t already noticed, all of the posts, reaching back to 11/5/04, are available via the archive pages in the sidebar.
The other big event this year at the Funky16Corners blog was the arrival of the feature known as Funky16Corners Radio. These mixes – in essence a podcast-esque thang – have proven very popular. That their technical sophistication has grown but an iota or two in the six months I’ve been posting them is only a reflection of the limited amount of time I have available to get them put together (as well as my own technical limitations, which are many). The mix I’ve posted today is composed of some of my favorite funk sides from the past year or so (with links to all of the original posts).
I have a number of future mixes in the can and ready to go, as well as the oft-mentioned, ever-growing supply of raw material that should keep me posting here for several more years.
Several readers have posted or e-mailed about the availability of the older Funky16Corners Radio mixes. I haven’t had enough server space to keep all the mixes archived on line, so I have been removing the older files to make room for new ones. Sometime very soon, I will be offering – as a fund raising item – a CD-R with MP3s of the first 14 editions of Funky16Corners Radio, as well as Word and TXT files of the track listings for all of them. They certainly won’t be expensive, and this way you can either move the mixes off onto your MP3 delivery system of choice, or burn off individual CDs of each mix if you prefer to rock them in your car, boom box, desktop computer or Hello Kitty personal CD player. I’ll make sure to get a link up for these discs in the next few weeks.
As always, I hope you dig what I’ve done here, and continue to do so in the future. Your feedback is always welcome and appreciated, as are any updates/corrections you may have. I have no illusions of infallibility and always dig hearing a new chapter in any musical story.
Anyway, I’m going back to my stack of pillows and a cup of green tea (perhaps even a graham cracker…). I ‘m not sure if I’ll be posting once or twice more this week, but I should e back up to full speed by next Monday.
Peace
Larry

*When I put this mix together I could have sworn that I had posted ‘Jason Pew Mosso’ on the blog. My memory was apparently incorrect…

26 Responses to “I’m Back! b/w Funky16Corners Blog Second Anniversary Incredible Stupendous Blogtacular (People It’s Bad)”

  1. Wazza Says:

    Fortunately breakfast and lunch are long gone britside of the pond by the time you make you’re morning post. Those first few paragraphs are enough to make Saw seem like a Disney movie:)

    Good to hear that you’re on the way to recovery and Happy Birthday to Funky16Corners.

    Looking forward to listening to this latest mix once I’ve made my way through the 6CD Complete Motown Singles Vol.4: 1964 which landed on my doormat this morning. I’ll certainly be checking out the CD when it becomes available.

    All of my music is on CD. You’re blog is giving me the urge to get a turntable and start looking around for some of the fantastic stuff that I now know is out there on vinyl.

  2. T.S. Says:

    Welcome back. Glad to hear you’re doing better.I have to say that from my experience with hospital stays I would much rather be woken up multiple times in a night by my one year old. Thanks for the tunes and be well. Don’t know what we would do without you!

  3. SportCasual Says:

    Welcome back Larry and congrats on 2 years of great music and fascinating background stories.

  4. walknthabass Says:

    So . . . What’s happening on “The View” lately?
    ;-)

    They kick Rosie outta there yet?

    I could ask my wife but I figure you got to watch it everyday!

    Glad you’re doing better.

    And after your description – I think I’ll have turkey instead of ham for Thanksgiving now!

    As usual – Keep On, Keeping On! And thanks for all the great music!

    You ever get down to Dallas I’ll take you to the Half-Price Book flagship store!

  5. Art(uro) Says:

    Yes, congrats on the anniversary and the healing. Can we refer to you as ‘Hamfats’ from now on? “…Let’s get infected and truck…”

  6. bert Says:

    Hi Larry,
    good to see you back from the hospital. In general I don’t like blogs too much, but the funky16corners is something else ! Thanks for the music, information and inspiration !!

  7. Kool Kyle Says:

    Great site! check it out, this guy is ripping off Preston Loves song “cool ade”. http://www.myspace.com/alfalpha . He is not even sampling it, hes straight up ripping it off. Send him a message!

  8. red kelly Says:

    Larry!

    As Norton woulda said “SHEESH!”

    Dude, I had no idea about the Smithfield Ham/leg thing, do hospitals suck or what? Anyway, welcome home and congratulations on two years of rockin’ blogtown… glad to see my personal all-time F16 fave “Crumbs Off The Table” up there in da mix.

    …thanks for everything!

  9. Cam Says:

    Fantastic, stonking and triumphant return to the blog. Hope yer health is improving quickly and an extremely happy 2nd birthday!

  10. Ciggie Says:

    So glad that you are back and at it again! I now have a new mix for my continued travels…

  11. The Stepfather of Soul! Says:

    Welcome back, and happy anniversary! Great work with the mix, as always!

  12. NetInfoWeb 2.0 » SoulTrackin’ 11/07/06… Says:

    [...] Funky16Corners (http://funky16corners.wordpress.com)We are glad to see that Larry (aka Funky16Corners), after spending a few days in the hospital last week, is back home now and on the road to recovery. Like a true music soldier though, he even dictated his November 3, 2006 message post to his wife from his hospital bed so his fans would be updated as to his whereabouts on his blog. Now that’s someone truly dedicated to the cause! Additionally, to celebrate his return (and the second anniversary of the Funky16Corners blog) he has posted the latest installment of Funky16Corners Radio, a jamming mix of some of his favorite tunes that he has presented for us this past year. REST UP LARRY AND GET 100% WELL SOON. And, of course, we are all looking forward to year 3 of Funky16Corners! [...]

  13. D.J.P. Says:

    Welcome back, Larry. Sorry to hear about your leg. Guess you won’t be entering any ass-kickin’ contests for a while.

    BTW, do you have any Sugar Pie deSanto singles stashed in your vaults? Perhaps you’ve heard the news about the fire that recently destroyed her house and took her husband’s life? I’m sure she could use a little support right about now… maybe you can spread some love from your funky headquarters.

  14. Alaimo Says:

    I’m an “lurker” here as we’re called sometimes. Just hovering about, without speaking out. But I now must say, I’m so glad you’re back to play, the best of old funk in the entire USA!

    Heal fast and get the CD made — I’ll be PayPal-ing you for it instantly.

  15. Leif Says:

    Hi!

    Happy 2nd anniversary and welcome back! So good to see you getting healthier. I just discovered your blog two weeks ago and I must say it’s a treasure. Your musical knowledge and your personal style ist simply unique. Thanks for doing this. Keep the faith!

  16. Rob Says:

    Lovely mix…guess you’re feeling better, powerful thang music!

  17. Will Says:

    Very pleased you’re back, and happy anniversary. Your blog is my favourite, for the words as well as the music.

  18. rob Says:

    I’m sitting at my desk with one headphone in my ear and the phone on the other ear “listening” to a conference call and i threw this week’s mix on. jaw dropped and the phone went down with it. i have no idea what the rest of that call is about ’cause i got both headphones in and my boss is looking at me laughing b/c i’m looking way to happy to be working. thanks for the music, the prose, and the soul. to all sorts of anniversaries and a new day for the world…

  19. Emanuel Says:

    Glad to see you back, Larry. The secon good message this week from over the pond… ;-)

    Greetings from Old Europe and many, many, many thanks for your great work!

  20. Vincent Says:

    What an absolutely FANTASTIC post! And the Chairmen track was such a lovely surprise. I’ve had that one in my collection ever since I was five, no kidding. What more can I say… Get well soon and thanks for keeping the web funky.

  21. sardu Says:

    Yo Larry,
    Hope your feeling better. Love the radio mixes. You mentioned doing a cd-r. Any chance of doing a cd rez quality cd-r? Man would I love to hear some of those records at 44/16 or higher.

  22. martha Says:

    hey larry–thanks as always for the amazing mixes from one of your silent regular readers–i have really enojyed your blog over the past year and a half that i’ve been tuned in. i haven’t yet heard this funk mix, but that photo you used in the post is amazing! what’s it from and who is it?
    cellulitis is no joke–i wish you a speedy recovery.
    -martha

  23. Selector Marx Says:

    Congratulations for this two years!!!

    One Love from Madrid (Spain)!!!

  24. johnny soul Says:

    Just discovered the site ( while googling ” cOMPARED TO WHAT” BY Della Reese )

    just testing to see if my comment goes up and I can be a member…

  25. johnny soul Says:

    OK ! IT worked ! ( couldn’t get through on the old site )

    Now can anybody tell me how to access and comment on the prev. archive topics ?
    or is this as far as the site goes in its 2nd incarnation ?

    ( I ‘m confused here ( but then I’m easily confused.. )

  26. Weight Loss Plateau Solutions Says:

    Great job on your blog.
    For Weight Loss Plateau Solutions please visit us.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

