Holy Crap! b/w Thanks Metafilter!

Greetings all.

Writing from a few hundred miles away from home base.

Spent most of the day driving today, and decided to just log on and check my e-mail to see what was up, logged into WordPress and BANG ZOOM, discovered that Funky16Corners experienced a COLOSSAL, HUGE heretofore unseen spike in traffic (huger even than the Boing Boing hit of 2005).

This is due to some kind soul over at Metafilter writing up the latest podcast.

Fortunately, this huge traffic spike and the ensuing increase (exponential) in downloads did not take the blog down, as the previously mentioned BoingBoing write up caused me to prepare in advance for such a windfall.

Alls I can say is thanks, and I hope everyone is digging the mix (though it seems a lot of folks aren’t digging the Bill Cosby track…).

I’ll be back on Monday with Part 2!

Peace

Larry

PS It had been brought to my attention that there was a comp sometime back that used the ‘Rubber Souled’ title. I had no idea, really.

PSS If you are so inclined, check out things over at Iron Leg, where there is some excellent non-soul music to be heard.

6 Responses to “Holy Crap! b/w Thanks Metafilter!”

  1. Patrick Says:

    Great stuff, Larry. I found you through MetaFilter, too, and I will be reading into your back pages and poaching your tastes. Well done. :-)

  2. jonson Says:

    Speaking as the Metafilter poster, I’m a huge fan of this site, and Rubber Souled was just another in a long line of awesome posts. Thanks for running this place!

  3. fleamarketfunk Says:

    the fleamarket funk got some crazy traffic too, but not from metafilter…trickle down from F16? me thinks so. great digs today, i’ll talk to you this week about it.

  4. Tony Says:

    Hey there!

    First off, let me say that Funky 16 Corners is one of my favorite blogs… I’ve been
    peeping you for a couple of years now and always look forward to your next post. Great work.

    Anyhoo, I’ve thrown together a summer funk mix and I would be honored
    if you deemed it worthy to share with your readers… here’s the
    link…

    http://tonegents.blogspot.com/2007/07/hello-summer-part-4.html

    Either way, big up, man :)

    Tony

  5. Mike Says:

    Oh. My.

    I caught the tail end of what I believe was one of your anthologies on the radio this afternoon, on my way home from Lake George while passing through Poughkeepsie/Wappinger’s Falls.

    I’m not sure whether I should be happy that I found you, because I will spend countless hours here, and may lose my job, friends, and home because of it.

    What a gold mine, great site.

  6. Ciggie Says:

    A great job, as always, Larry. One thing that I’m curious about–and would make one great mix–would be something like “top fifteen most downloaded songs through funky16″
    I’m always interested in what strikes people’s fancy, and what does not.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

