R&J- Sunshine of Your Love

Example

Everybody Dance!!

Example

Listen – Sunshine of Your Love MP3″

Greetings all.

I know I said that I might not be posting again this week, but I figured I couldn’t go away for the rest of the week without leaving you something to tide you over.
Fittingly, it’s a record that’s an almost complete mystery.
I kind of know what it is, but I have no who it is.
Some weeks ago I was out on a digging expedition with my man DJ Prestige and I happened upon this disc in a big box of $3.00 45s. It looked interesting, and once I popped it on the old GP3 I soon discovered that it sounded interesting as well, and tossed it on the “keeper” pile.
Chapter One – What it is…
Those of you hat are familiar with the name Hoctor, and the records associated with it will know that there were companies (of which Hoctor was one) that produced records for use in dance schools, i.e. reworkings of the hits of the day created so that rooms full of students might have something to shuffle along with. Having discovered that the ‘Roye Dodge’ listed on the label was a choreographer, I have little doubt that this is such a record.
Chapter Two – Who It Is…
I have no idea. As is the case with some of the better Hoctor records, the playing is better than what one might expect from such an enterprise, however not so good that I’d harbor any illusions about it actually being someone “big” performing incognito. The likelihood is that the folks that whipped up this groovy, organ-led rendition of the Cream chestnut were studio heads picking up a few hours of work. Theyplay the tune with just enough verve to suggest an affinity for reinterpretation of the material. Whether that means they were jazzbos slumming for a day, or merely competent professionals, I do not know. What I do know is that I dig the vaguely soulful, au go go vibe herein, and I wouldn’t be surprised if this particular cut was to reappear in a Hammond mix somewhere down the line.
I hope you dig it.
I’ll see you on Monday.
Peace
Larry

10 Responses to “R&J- Sunshine of Your Love”

  1. JackieTreehorn Says:

    >>> I hope you dig it.

    I Do. Thanks again!

  2. Planet Mondo Says:

    Wow ! Thats a groovy treat, I know the Ella Fitz’ and Spanky Wilson versions, but never heard this one – a great rework of a stomping track – thanks for posting.

  3. fleamarketfunk Says:

    very niiice. i like. i’m still looking for meters covers on that damn hoctor label.

  4. Nuevo Says:

    Hello,

    Just discovered your blog by chance. Congratulations for the 3rd anniversary.

    One question/request: Would it be possible for you to upload your tracks with higher quality, let’s say, at least 192kbps?

    Kind regards.

  5. iamnotthebeatles Says:

    Hello, this is a brilliant track – This is my first visit to your extensive site, so may I congratulations on a truly excellent, incredibly well researched blog – with wonderful music. But, of course, you already know that!

    All the best,

    Ian TB

  6. Bubblz Says:

    Just got put on to your blog and boy am i feeling the funky treats you’ve been dishing out. Keep bringing the heat because you sureley are appreciated in the city of Berkeley
    -Bubbles

  7. eyeeatmusic Says:

    Kool Instrumental Version!!

    Cheers

  8. Dick Ely Says:

    Just found another R&J; it’s “Sunny” b/w “The Best Things In Life Are Free”, primarily xylophone, flute and drums. Sounds like another dance record.

    Thanks!

  9. Dana Says:

    How much information do you want? I can’t tell you who the musicians are because they differed with each record and there were many. They were dance records that went with the routines that Roye and Jane Dodge created for dance teachers all over the country. The Dodges taught at several of the dance conventions, primarily in New York but also in the major cities of the country. This was in the 50″s and 60″s. They had their own studio on 49th Street in NYC for a number of years then opened a neighborhood school in New City, NY from 1959 to 1985 at which time they retired due to the failing health of Roye. Their early careers were also interesting if more information is wanted. How do I know all this? I’m the oldest of their two daughters!!

  10. ana_b Says:

    Dana…there’s another blog asking questions about your parents, and the records issued on the R&J label…

    http://souldetective.blogspot.com/

    your help would be appreciated..

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

