Brick – Dazz

Example

Brick

Example

Listen – Dazz – MP3″

Greetings all.

As they say in the vernacular, “long time no see”. Well, not actually a long time by any reasonable calculation, but since I skipped the mid-week post, thus truncating the post flow (as it is), what you get is two posts where there ought to be three and so, the time interval between meetings is, if not “long”, at least longer.

How’s that for a combination pile of crap/run on sentence?

Heh, heh heh…

I know. You’re thinking, with all the time he spent coming up with that he could have posted another song. Well, maybe you’re right, but I’m scrambling for a little extra, pressure free time this week to just kind of slow my head down a little and take things in.

Nothing’s wrong mind you. I’m just a little ‘head-tired’ this week so consider Wednesday’s lack of posting to constitute taking a personal day.

Besides…I now (again) have a huge stack of records sitting on my desk waiting to be translated from vinyl grooves to ones and zeros, said translation ensuring the continuation of this enterprise.

So…all that baloney under the bridge, had you scoped out my set list from the last Asbury Park 45 Sessions, those of you with keen eyes might have noticed the inclusion in my set of a tune from somewhere slightly outside the usual temporal regions, that tune being ‘Dazz by Brick.

Now, if you’re already familiar with the tune – which I’m assuming many of you are – you will be aware that the music on the record is, as the great Don Cornelius was wont to say, a stone gas (honey). It was it’s inherent groovaliciousness that made it a huge hit in 1977, riding the number one spot on the R&B charts for weeks and planted securely in the pop top 5.

The band that created these grooves, Brick, came together in Atlanta, GA in the early 70’s. Between 1976 and 1981 they had a series of hits (‘Dazz’ being the biggest) that took funk and gave it a jazzy edge.

Though the refrain in the song states ‘Dazz is disco jazz’, I’d be willing to state for the record that the tune is disco, only in the sense that it was played in discotheques (though there’s no earthly reason a disco full of willing dancers wouldn’t boogie to the fullest extent once the needle hit the wax).

The groove is paradoxically loose and solid at the same time, with a rhythm guitar line that sounds as if it were being fed through a Leslie speaker running over a solid, bass-heavy drum beat. The jazzy elements, including some very nice soprano sax and flute soloing are woven around the soprano vocals of drummer Eddie Irons, flutist Ray Ransom and bassist Jimmy Brown.

Oddly enough, though I’ve dug ‘Dazz’ since I was a kid (when it came out) I never heard the extended version you’re downloading today (sampled numerous times) until I dug up this 45, another great example of a most excellent record than can be had for a pittance.

That said, if listening to ‘Dazz’ doesn’t get you lifted, pulled out of the week and placed securely in the mood for a Spring weekend, then I don’t know what to tell you brother.

See you on Monday.

Peace
Larry

PS Check out Iron Leg for some Scandinavian Freakbeat.

9 Responses to “Brick – Dazz”

  1. Tony C Says:

    Cor Blimey!! This takes me back to my early clubbing days.”Let it whip” was another good one by Brick.
    Happy days,
    Tony.

  2. Planet Mondo Says:

    Discolicous – great for kicking the weekend off too, you can really hear the Jazz Funk vibe creeping in (I’d guess The Blackbyrds were an influence on Dazz)

  3. Brian Poust Says:

    Hey Larry – I’ll link up to this when I do my next Georgia Soul blog post. It will explain a little bit of background on these guys which you may find interesting!

  4. funky16corners Says:

    Brian
    That would be very cool. I look forward to it.
    Larry

  5. Vincent the Soul Chef Says:

    Their follow up record is great too… “Dusic” can also be had for mere peanuts. Takes me waaaaaaaaaaaaay back!

  6. JJ Money Says:

    Yeah this cut is ridiculous.

    There is also a fantastic jazzy instrumental on side 2 of the LP.

  7. themusicologist Says:

    Larry,

    brings back memories of throwing shapes in the clubs and warehouses of London’s Rare Groove scene when I was a youngblood.

    thanks

  8. ChevyGirlAz Says:

    I love Brick.. It took me almost 20 yrs to find a copy of there Summer Heat lp. But I finely found it. Sad thing is I don’t have a record player yet!!!
    I love the song Babe this LP. I fell in love with it the first time I heard it. We rewound the cassette so many times till it snaped..:( I am just happy to have found it. Now looking to buy a record player to convert it to digital and put it on a cd. Thanks again ChevyGirlAz

  9. Russ Says:

    Correction: Ray Ransom=Bass Player, Jimmy Brown=Flute & Horns. I know from whence I speak. I used to work for Brick in the 70’s/ 80’s.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

