San Remo Golden Strings – I’m Satisfied

Example

Listen – I’m Satisfied – MP3″

Greetings all.

I’m going to make this one especially brief because right now I have a blazing headache (THE POLLEN?!?!?) and the littlest of the Funky16Corners crew has to go in the (very early) AM for a surgical procedure, so everyone has to get their asses in their bunks early tonight.
Today’s selection is one of those records I picked up very cheaply some time ago, and waited a long time before I gave it a serious listen. I first heard of the San Remo Golden Strings at about the same time I encountered the world of Northern Soul.
The “group” (I will refer you to a series of San Remo-related posts by the esteemed Red Kelly at his B-Side blog for an in depth approach to the story, make sure to follow the “continued” links at the end of the posts), was basically an imaginary construct (created under the aegis of Detroit label owner Ed Wingate) that included in it’s ranks various and sundry moonlighting Funk Brothers, thus that pure, soulful Detroit sound coming out of the grooves.
There were a series of 45’s and an LP on Ric-Tic, a reissue of the Ric-Tic LP on Motown (the label that Wingate sold his entire operation to in 1967) and a second LP on that label as well.
Don’t let the name fool you, as ‘I’m Satisfied’ isn’t any more ‘string-y’ than your run of the mill, high class Northern Soul 45, and it packs a solid beat, memorable melody and is enough of a mover for the dancers in the crowd.
It’s a great record, which if you’re anything like me you’ll find yourself giving repeat plays.
I hope you dig it, and if all is well I’ll be back on Friday.
Peace
Larry

PS Check out Iron Leg for a new UK Psyche podcast!

5 Responses to “San Remo Golden Strings – I’m Satisfied”

  1. http://musicblogwebring.blogspot.com/ Says:

    He dear you have a nice music blog would you like to sign in en joy. The Great, Big, Free, Music Blog Web Ring:
    http://musicblogwebring.blogspot.com/

    Simple and fast from one Music Blog to anohter!
    More vistors, more contact, more new blogs and more..

    Tell it to your friends and help to let it grow
    Thx a lot
    Dadexter

  2. T.S. Says:

    My wife had huge pollen problems, constant headaches at certain times of the year. Then she spent $15 on something called a neti pot (check yer local health food store). It is used to flush your sinuses with warm water mixed with iodine free salt. Problem solved! You would be amazed at how much crap comes out of her nose when she does it!

  3. Tony C Says:

    Hey Larry,
    Is it just me not getting any sound from this?
    Cheers Tony.

  4. funky16corners Says:

    Tony
    The server was offline for a while this afternoon, but it seems OK now.
    Larry

  5. JAAAHWS » Blog Archive » JAAAHWS in a row Says:

    [...] Music: Brick – Dazz [...]

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

