Little Royal and the Swingmasters – Razor Blade

Example

Little Royal

Example

Listen – Razor Blade MP3″

Greetings all.

Allow me to depart from my prepared remarks for a moment as I spin a tale of woe, in which my job –a generally tolerable affair made more so by a cool boss – turned yesterday into an experience not unlike being rolled down (apologies to Eddie Cochran) 20 flights of stairs in a garbage can.
Sweet weeping jeebus what a day I had.
My head is still spinning.
As a result, I don’t have a whole lot to say in this post.
That’s OK though, since the tune I bring to you to close out the week is a bit of what I like to call funky ass funkity funk, brought to you courtesy of Little Royal and the Swingmasters.
The tune I bring you today is probably – at least amongst the funky cognoscenti – their best known track, the instrument powerhouse ‘Razor Blade’.
Little Royal – know to his mama as Royal Torrance – recorded for a number of labels in the 60’s and 70’s, creating his best known/remembered for the Tri-Us subsidiary of King records.
The King association is apt because the artist that ought to come to mind upon hearing much of Little Royal’s material is none other than the Godfather of Soul, James Brown.
‘Razor Blade’ is a very solid bit of meat and potatoes funk 45-ism, with a rubbery pimp-walk of a guitar line laid over a snappy 4/4 drum beat (with a break, of course…) and a sharp horn chart. Things aren’t too JBs-y, working – at least in my opinion – a more Kool and the Gang-y side of the street. Of course Little Royal himself doesn’t do much (if anything) here, but I like to think of jiving around on the side of the stage while mopping his brown and sipping a cold beverage.
That said, dig the sounds, have a groovy weekend and I’ll be back on Monday.
Peace
Larry

PS The esteemed Stepfather of Soul ran a piece on this track a few years back in which he made not of the fact that the ‘Razor Blade’ was re-used as the instrumental backing for the tune ‘Living In Depression’ by Sebastian.

PSS Head over to Iron Leg for some tasty 60’s pop.

6 Responses to “Little Royal and the Swingmasters – Razor Blade”

  1. Ian Says:

    It’s shitty having a bad day but tunes like that make it better don’t they!

  2. funky16corners Says:

    They certainly do!

  3. fleamarketfunk Says:

    a huge favorite of mine! glad you dug our mix!

  4. Tim J. Says:

    This has also been sampled…in a possibly unreleased J Dilla track I picked up from another blog, possibly…yes, it was Soul Sides.

    http://soul-sides.com/2007/02/j-dilla-still-dunking-donuts.html

  5. Tim J. Says:

    Thanks for exposing me to the original!

  6. Live Southern Soul Saturday and Sunday - Black Plastic Bag - Washington City Paper Says:

    [...] night longtime James Brown tribute artist, Little Royal, will be at the Knights of Columbus Hall in Forestville, Maryland.  A friend alerted me to the [...]

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

