Round Robin – The Vulture

Example

Round Robin serenades the kids

Example

Listen – Round Robin – The Vulture – MP3″

Greetings all.

I hope the middle of the week finds you well, and that you’ve been digging on all those high quality New Orleans sounds in Monday’s podcast.
Today’s selection is a record by another one of those soul artists who has always kind of existed on the periphery – at least for me – showing up in digs, on sale lists and the like, but never carrying enough information (along with the name) to place the artist into context.
That artist is Round Robin.
I’ve been seeing his records for years (as Round Robin, Round Robin & the Parleys and Round Robin Monopoly), but only picked one up in the last few months (how, I ask you could I pass on a soul record called ‘The Vulture’???).
It was only a short while after that, as I was reading Domenic Priore’s ‘Riot On the Sunset Strip’ that I read anything at all about the man (though, no matter how I’ve tried, I haven’t been able to discover what his last name was).
Round Robin was a Los Angeles-based singer who got his start in the early 60’s with the regional hit ‘Do the Slauson’, and was for a time (thanks to a lot of exposure on the Lloyd Thaxton TV show*) something of a West Coast, dance-craze Chubby Checker. In fact, so popular was ‘The Slauson’ that he devoted sides of his first three 45s to the ‘Slauson’ (a street in LA) songs, ‘Slauson Shuffle Time’, ‘Slauson Party’ and ‘Do the Slauson’*.
He recorded more than a dozen 45s between 1963 and 1975, running the gamut from R&B/twist party, through soul, garage and funk.
‘The Vulture’ was one side of his only Capitol 45 (he also recorded for Domain, Mothers, Truth and a few other labels). The record has a deceptively slow, spoken opening before Round Robin drops in with a loud, overwrought and vaguely out of tune shout of ‘The Vulture’ and the tune hits a solid four on the floor dancers beat, with just enough vibes and baritone sax in the background to draw in the Northern Soulies in the room. All this in addition to the fact that the record was produced by the mighty David Axelrod.
I haven’t seen anything to indicate what happened to Round Robin, so if any of you out there have the scoop, please drop me a line.
Peace
Larry

*LLoyd Thaxton was a major LA-based TV and radio personality, whose dance party show was syndicated for a time in the 60s. Round Robin apparently released a couple of albums for Thaxton, so the chances are that there are in fact even more ‘Slauson’ tunes. Interestingly enough, Bob & Earl reportedly looked to ‘Slauson Shuffle Time’ for inspiration when they whipped up the mighty ‘Harlem Shuffle’

PS Don’t forget to get your Memorial Day Weekend off to a solid start at the latest edition of the Asbury Park 45 Sessions, this Friday May 23rd at the World Famous Asbury Lanes.

PSS Head over to Iron Leg for a mid-80’s garage/mod revival podcast.

15 Responses to “Round Robin – The Vulture”

  1. Stu Says:

    Hey there man.

    Just wanted to say how much I LOVE your blog. It is my go to place on the web when I want to hear some great new tunes I don’t know.

    Total quality!

    Cheers,

    Stu – Glasgow, Scotland

  2. funky16corners Says:

    Thanks Stu!

  3. Paolo Says:

    I like that. I like it a lot! Don’t think I’ve ever heard of Round Robin before. Thanks Larry.

  4. mr. fine wine Says:

    hi, larry. van and titus do a decent version of this, on elf.

  5. Ray Brown Says:

    Larry, I played bass for Round Robin for several years from 1969 through 1975. He was a really good guy. We traveled from L.A. to Miami, to Chicago, New York, Texas, Colorado and all stops in between. We had a kick butt band with two guitars, Larry Green, who played and sang great, from Fort Worth, and Dub Craft from L.A. who we called Zero. For a while, we even had two drummers. One of the drummers was Ollie Lamey who later resided in Las Vegas. The other drummer was from Cuba, and played conga drums when he wasn’t needed on the trap set. On sax was Arnold Barry, we called him Stunigan, and he hailed from New York City. He was a good singer, too. We also had a trumpet player, his name escapes me, and a trombone player, Rex White from Florida. We played James Brown, Chicago type music and everything funky from the times. The house was always packed no matter where we were. Robin wound up in Dallas building huge, wonderful, custom homes in the Plano area and then I lost track of him. Dallas seemed to be his home base as his act was truly loved there. Robin was kind and always tried to keep every band member happy, which is a very hard thing to do. We recorded an album for Staxx records and just at the time it was released, the company went bankrupt. Robins was very funny during the shows we performed, he danced light on his feet and belted out tunes with his soul. I wish I could find out where he is and contact him. If you ever get that info, please forward it to me. Thanks, Ray Brown, bass player, the other one.

  6. andi lloyd Says:

    round robin is my father. our last name is lloyd. it’s really neat to have found this.

    • Timothy Lucero Says:

      andi, my mom used to be friends with a girl named Linda Palmer, my moms name was audie… she was friends with another girl named Andi that apparently was dating a gentlemen named Robin, that played in Monopoly LTD….was that your mom???

  7. Tom Valenzuela Says:

    I saw Round Robin and band in 1972 at The Merry Go Round in Colorado Springs. Great group and performance. And the place was packed.

    Also saw Round Robin on a kids show in Phoenix AZ. The show occasionally had performers on the show as they came through Phoenix. This was probably 1966 or 67.

  8. Rex White Says:

    Ray Brown, How ya’ been amigo? I was just speaking witrh Round last nite and he had heard about you posting something on the net. Must be this. The trumpet player was Lenord Sorvillo. Len is now a clergyman. I still play, mostly keyboard and vocals since I discovered I could sing. Arnie’s working with a show group called Fabulons here in South Florida. If you find this look me up on FaceBook and I’ll hook you up with Round.
    Rex

    • Timothy Lucero Says:

      Rex, do you know if Round Robin was in a band called Monopoly LTD??? I know there was a singer named robin, is this him???

      Also do you remember a piano player named Merle “skip” Pollard, I was hoping either Robin or yourself knew of him, and potentially could help me get in touch with him.

  9. ROUND ROBIN(ROBIN LLOYD) Says:

    THANK YOU FOR YOUR INTERESTING COMMENTS. I RESIDE IN DALLAS,TEXAS, AND OWN A COMPANY THAT DESIGNS AND BUILDS LUXURY HOMES FOR THE LAST 27 YEARS. YOU CAN FIND MORE OF MY MUSIC ON THE STAX RECORD LABEL, TRUTH RECORDS. UNDER THE NAME, ROUND ROBIN MONOPOLY, PRODUCED BY WILLIE HALL, WHO WAS DRTHE DRUMMER FOR ISSAC HAYES, AND THE DRUMMER IN THE BLUES BROTHER MOVIES.AGAIN THANK YOU. SAY HELLO TO RAY BROWN. AND ALL OF MY NEW FANS….

  10. Leonard Belota Says:

    Hello Round Robin! I played trumpet with the group for a few years. And I learned many lessons with Monopoly LTD.

  11. Timothy Lucero Says:

    Leonard Belota, My mother used to talk about a band called Monopoly LTD that played at the players club in Dallas Texas on Green street or something like that… in 1971…She always told stories of a singer named Robin, is this the Round Robin LLoyd that is reffered to above???

    Also since you mention Monopoly LTD, she had a friend named Skip Pollard that was in this band, I am not sure of his first name or even what instrument he played, I just know she spoke of a friend in that band named skip that used to keep a picture of his little girl with him as he travled….she was about 3 in 1971 from my recolection of the stories. Did you know Skip??? His real first name??? Daughters name??? or even what instrument he played…. I think he might of wound up in Calgary Canada with a band named Biggy and Twiggie in 1973 & 1974 if it is the same Skip Pollard I am reffering to……If anybody can fill in the blanks for me it would certainly bring back some sentimental value to the stories my mom told us when we were kids….Her name was Audie…..

  12. Leonard Belota Says:

    That was before my time, but I knew of him. His real name was Merle and he was the piano player.

    • Timothy Lucero Says:

      Leonard, thanks so much it means alot to know these little bits of info, I greatly appreciate your input.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

