The Dynamics – Ain’t No Sun (Since You’ve Been Gone)

Example

The Dynamics

Example

Listen – The Dynamics – Ain’t No Sun (Since You’ve Been Gone) – MP3″

Greetings all.

If you’re reading this, it should be apparent that at least a few of us made it to the end of the week with our wits about us.
I should note that on Monday, though you may stop here for the musical equivalent of your morning bagel and coffee, you will be redirected to the great Fleamarket Funk blog where your host DJ Prestige will be serving up a little guest mix I prepared in honor of his one year anniversary. It contains some very hot items which I think you’ll dig. Once you’re done listening. stick around and check out the many excellent features (individual posts and mixes) that Pres has to offer.
I have to start out by admitting that I only got hip to the Dynamics ‘First Landing’ LP in the last few years. There were a couple of groups named the Dynamics, and more than one of them were (like these Dynamics) from Michigan. I’m happy to inform you that as far as I can tell, only one of these groups made a one hundred percent kick-ass soul album for Cotillion in 1969.
The tune I bring you today – ‘Ain’t No Sun (Since You’ve Been Gone)’ – may sound familiar because before the Dynamics got their hands on it, the song was recorded by the Temptations (the OG I believe), Gladys Knight & the Pips, and Chuck Jackson. Philadelphia’s Ambassadors also recorded a version in 1969 and there are apparently versions (unreleased at the time but later unearthed for compilations) by the Supremes and Dusty Springfield.
The tune – and the rest of the ‘First Landing’ LP – is a fantastic amalgam of Detroit group sounds with a big helping of Southern grit (like their fellow Motor City movers the Dramatics, the Dynamics recorded in Memphis). ‘Aint No Sun (Since You’ve Been Gone)’ is a stone killer with a propulsive (yet somehow laid back) dance beat, solid harmonies and horns and a booming bass. Do yourself a favor and grab the recent reissue of this album, give it a spin or two and marvel at how it wasn’t a HUGE hit when it first came out. Though ‘The Ice Cream Song’ was a modest hit upon its release, there isn’t a song on this LP that couldn’t have been a radio hit on its own.
Next to ‘Ain’t No Sun…’ I also really dig their cover of the Masqueraders ‘I Don’t Want Nobody To Lead Me On’.
I hope you dig the tune, and that you have a great weekend. I’ll see you on Monday.
Peace
Larry

PS Don’t forget to get your Memorial Day Weekend off to a solid start at the latest edition of the Asbury Park 45 Sessions, tonight Friday May 23rd at the World Famous Asbury Lanes.

Example

PSS Head over to Iron Leg for a mid-80’s garage/mod revival podcast.

2 Responses to “The Dynamics – Ain’t No Sun (Since You’ve Been Gone)”

  1. Planet Mondo Says:

    Fantastic – I love the punchy horns and ‘slightly too fast’ tempo

  2. nikos1109 Says:

    This is a classic, i’ve posted this one back at my “Lost in Tyme” Blog days.
    This is my new blog http://www.funkmysoul.gr/, add me if you please.

    Larry, respect for your excellent work.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

