Chuck Carbo R.I.P.

Example

Hayward ‘Chuck’ Carbo

Example

Listen -Chuck Carbo – Can I Be Your Squeeze – MP3″

Listen -Chuck Carbo – Take Care of Your Homework – MP3″

Greetings all.

Earlier today I got the sad news that New Orleans legend Hayward ‘Chuck’ Carbo had passed away at the age of 82.
Around these parts, Carbo is best known for his ass-kicking, Eddie Bo produced funk 45, ‘Can I Be Your Squeeze’ b/w ‘Take Care of Your Homework’.
However, Carbo had a long and productive career, starting in the 1950s alongside his brother Leonard ‘Chick’ Carbo in the NOLA vocal group the Spiders, who hit in 1955 with the tune ‘Witchcraft’.
The Spiders broke up by the 60s, after which the brothers continued to record separately.
Chuck’s magnum opus was the aforementioned single, recorded in 1969, and released locally on the Fireball label, and nationally on Canyon.
I’ve mentioned this before (more than once) but allow me to belabor the point once again. ‘Can I Be Your Squeeze’, with Carbo’s smoking vocals, the Eddie Bo writing and production, and last but certainly not least James Black’s atomic blast of percussion is one of the hottest funk sides to come out of ANY city, let alone the hotbed of New Orleans.
When everyone but Black drops out and Chuck gets it together with the

Git it! Git it! Git it young sister! Whip it! Whip it! Whip it young sister!

it’s a miracle the turntable doesn’t melt under the pressure.
Carbo took a significant amount of time off from the music business, returning to recording in the 90’s for the Rounder label.
I’ve posted both (excellent) sides of the Canyon 45 above, and hope you’ll join me in lifting a glass in memory of one of the masters of the New Orleans sound, Mr. Chuck Carbo.

Peace
Larry

PSS Don’t forget to head over to Iron Leg for some coolness!

PSSS Check out Paperback Rider as well.

8 Responses to “Chuck Carbo R.I.P.”

  1. b1xx1b Says:

    great post …

    i have started a private mp3 site… invite only.
    use invite code inthegame.

    and enjoy. i sure enjoy your blog.

    b

  2. HeavySoulBrutha DaveB. Says:

    Very Sad! “Squeeze” is a juggernaut of a tune and an ALL-TIME FAV!! Thanks for the tribute.

    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave…

  3. Dontsendimdaahn Says:

    Lovely words. I’ll be lifting a nice malt to his memory tonight.

    ‘Can I be your squeeze’ got me my wife.

    Will continue to love your work fella

    Peace

  4. Rizla Teef Says:

    Amen to that, I just got this 45 last week and it’s the heaviest side I own yet. here’s to keeping his work alive. T

  5. Mark P Says:

    Oh yeah. I’m listening to “Squeeze” and lifting a glass as I type. Ungh!

  6. Toni Carbo Inge Says:

    I would like to thank everyone around the country for their many Prayer’s, their Card’s, Letter’s etc.
    It was really a good feeling knowing how much so many of you cared about my (DADDY).

    STAY BLESSED,
    TONI CARBO INGE

  7. Bookmarks about Turntable Says:

    […] – bookmarked by 5 members originally found by blinks on 2008-08-23 Chuck Carbo R.I.P. https://funky16corners.wordpress.com/2008/07/20/chuck-carbo-rip/ – bookmarked by 3 members […]

  8. Chuck Carbo: Good Things Come To Those Who Wait : NetInfoWeb: Music & More… Says:

    […] Grogan at Funky 16 Corners featured this song from the Canyon version of the 45 shortly after Chuck’s passing, calling it “one of the […]

Comments are closed.