Funky16Corners Radio v.57 – Easy Reader’s Soul Party

Example

Funky16Corners Radio v.56 – Solar Heat

Playlist

Little Richard – Land of 1000 Dances (Okeh)
OV Wright – I Love the Way You Love (Backbeat)
Ovations – Dance Party (Goldwax)
Five Dutones – Shake a Tailfeather (One-Derful!)
Benny Spellman – I Feel Good (Atlantic)
Performers – I Can’t Stop You (Mirwood)
Aretha Franklin – See Saw (Atlantic)
Willie Mitchell – That Driving Beat (Hi)
Benny Gordon & the Soul Brothers – In the Midnight Hour (RCA)
Ikettes – Don’t Feel Sorry For Me (Modern)
Chubby Checker – Karate Monkey (Parkway)
Solomon Burke – Keep Looking (Atlantic)
Billy Vera & Judy Clay – Really Together (Atlantic)
Howard Tate – Glad I Knew Better (Verve)
Georgie Fame – Monkeying Around (Imperial)
Chet ‘Poison’ Ivey – Soul Is My Game (Bee Cee)
Little Richard – I Don’t Want To Discuss It (Okeh)

To hear this mix, head on over to the Funky16Corners Radio Podcast Archive

Greetings all.

I hope all is well on your end, and that your weekend was restful, restorative and worth the five day slog.
The mix I bring you today, is like a few others in the Funky16Corners Radio Podcast Archive, a reconstruction of sorts of an old ‘personal’ mix. Back in the day, before I started the ole podcasting thing, and was generally mixing tunes for my own edification and that of a very select few (i.e. those I felt like burning CDs for), I used to – much like I do for the interwebs – stack up a nice tasty pile of 45s and compress them into a CD which I would, as the kids say, rock in the whip, or on the CD-Rom drive of my work computer (so as to keep my sanity on the job).
Then, back in two thousand and ought four, following almost four years of the Funky16Corners web zine, on which I occasionally posted a song snippet or two in RealAudio (the creation of which was a serious pain in the ass), I decided to take the leap into the realm of MP3 blogging, the results of which (four years on) you see before you. It was another two years before the Funky16Corners Radio Podcast was born.
In the two years since then, the mixes, which started out as a pretty straightforward affair, have gotten a little more interesting, with the themes, and the drops, and the “station IDs” and what not.
It’s been a while since I dropped a non-themed mix of old-school soul, so as an old David Allen Grier character used to say: “Want to hear it? Here it is!”
I won’t go into my customary level of detail with this mix for a few reasons.
First – and foremost – several of these tracks have been featured individually in this space over the years. Others have appeared in previous mixes, and almost all of the artists have been covered here before.
My excuse for the repeat appearances is (aside from the usual inexcusable level of laziness) that I wanted to keep the feel of the original mix. This is – of course – meaningless to anyone that never heard that particular CD before (and that would be just about everyone), but you’ll have to humor me on this one.
The “framing device”, the snippets of Easy Reader have little or nothing do with the tunes in the mix (I’ve done that before), but they’re so cool I had to use them*.
There are a few of tracks here from the earliest days of my soul 45 jones (O.V. Wright, Five Dutones) and some that I happened upon first in versions from the British Invasion; ‘See Saw’ via Georgie Fame (who appears late in the mix), ‘I Feel Good’ and ‘Keep Looking’ via the Artwoods. A couple of others are the result of my Mod pals (Willie Mitchell, Chubby Checker) and a few longtime personal favorites like the Billy Vera/Judy Clay number and the Performers track.
The whole thing is engineered to provide the soundtrack for your next ripple and potato chip party, in which rugs should be cut, beer should be spilled and, as our friends from Chicago have suggested, tailfeathers shaken.
I hope you dig the mix, and I’ll be back at the end of the week with the track I was supposed to post last Friday, and then said I’d post today (it’s worth the wait, I promise).
Until then…
Peace
Larry

*For those of you who grew up outside the US (and outside the 70s) Easy Reader was a character (played by Morgan Freeman) on the very groovy children’s TV program The Electric Company.

PS Make sure to stop by Iron Leg for hot mix of rockabilly, guitar reverb and stripper-type sounds…

PSS Check out Paperback Rider as well

8 Responses to “Funky16Corners Radio v.57 – Easy Reader’s Soul Party”

  1. Tony C Says:

    So many good tunes on this mix Larry.Most of them new to me.Love Little Richards L.O A.T.D.
    Cheers Tony.

  2. W Says:

    Now this one looks great! I’m looking forward to spinning it tomorrow. Thanks.

  3. planet mondo Says:

    Wow – that’s unrelenting – great to hear it bookended with Little Richard great touch – I’m sure I’ve got a tune by him called Funky Dishrag somewhere

  4. Paul Says:

    Best. Podcast. Ever.

  5. Jeff Says:

    Swell secret track! “First I Look At The Purse.” I dig.

    Thanks as always, Larry.

  6. Dirk Says:

    I cannot open the zip-file. I tried it with Winzip and with Winrar. The same problem with the latest zip-file on Iron Leg.

  7. funky16corners Says:

    Dirk
    I’m not sure what the problem is. Is anyone else having trouble with the Zip file???
    L

  8. funky16corners Says:

    Dirk/All
    I downloaded and tested the Zip file last night and all was well.
    L

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers