Funky16Corners Radio v.60 – Finger Lickin’ Good b/w 4th Anniversary Mix!

Example

Funky16Corners Radio v.60 – Finger Lickin’ Good!

Playlist

Louis Chachere – The Hen Pt1 (Paula)
James Brown – The Hen Pt1 (King)
The Meters – Chicken Strut (Josie)
Willie Henderson & the Soul Explosions – The Funky Chicken Pt1 (Brunswick)
Clarence Wheeler & the Enforcers – Broasted or Fried (Atlantic)
Jerry O – The Funky Chicken Yoke (Jerry O)
Unemployed – Funky Rooster (Cotillion)
Okie Duke – Chicken Lickin (Ovation)
Rufus Thomas – Do the Funky Chicken (Stax)
Mel Brown – Chicken Fat (Impulse)
Lou Garno Trio – Chicken In the Basket (Giovannis)
Chants – Chicken and Gravy (Checker)
Art Jerry Miller – Finger Licken Good (Enterprise)
Bobby Rush – Chicken Heads (Galaxy)
E Rodney Jones & Larry & the Hippies Band – Chicken On Down (Double Soul)
NY Jets – Funky Chicken (Tamboo)
Radars – Finger Licken Chicken (Yew)*
*Bonus Platter
Andre Brasseur – The Duck (Palette)
Butch Cornell Trio – Goose Pimples (RuJac)
Nie Liters – Serenade To a Jive Turkey (RCA

To hear this mix, head on over to the Funky16Corners Radio Podcast Archive

Greetings all.

This edition of Funky16Corners Radio – the 60th?!?!? – marks an even more unlikely event, that being of the completion of the fourth year in the existence of this very blog, and thanks to a wonderful bit of synchronicity, the beginning of a new era in the United States.
Back in November of 2004, when I started the Funky16Corners Blog, I had no inkling that I’d still be at it four years down the pike.
If statistics are any indication, the average life of most blogs is between two and three months, which makes Funky16Corners something Methuselah-esque. If there’s any key at all to its longevity, it would be that I enjoy doing it. As anyone that reads the posts here can tell you, I’m a busy guy, with the job, and the little kids and all the rest of the accoutrements of life in the suburbs (though those that know me would be hard pressed to describe me as typical in that regard).
That said, I started blogging as a way to redistribute the amount of work I was doing on the Funky16Corners web zine, which preceded the foundation of the blog by another four years. My oldest son had just been born, and I wanted to keep writing about music, so I figured that if I broke the work down into bite-sized pieces, that I could continue to do so without running myself ragged.
Needless to say, that hasn’t always been the case.
However, it didn’t take much time before I realized how addictive this enterprise would be. The blog provided an outlet for my writing, then a few years on to my compulsive mixology, and thanks to a largely cordial and appreciative audience I often learn as much as lay out.
That aspect of the blog has been among the most rewarding. In addition to shout outs from folks who just dig hearing the music, I really dig hearing from other collectors who help flesh out the sometimes sketchy bits of information that I’m able to gather. Along those lines – and especially rewarding – are the notes from artists and their friends and families saying how much it means to see that someone still appreciates the music.
Thanks to the blog, I’ve met some very cool people, first and foremost my man DJ Prestige, founder of the Asbury Park 45 Sessions, the all-45 DJ night that I’ve been a contributor to for almost two years.
I’ve been writing about music on the fringes for more than two decades. I started my first zine, Incognito, back in 1985, when it was all manually cut and pasted, and then taken to the copy shop and Xeroxed. A few years later I purchased my first computer (an Apple Performa 200) and entered the world of desktop publishing. My second zine, Evil Eye was a somewhat more sophisticated affair, with scans and tons of crazy fonts, but as before, it all ended up at the copy shop, as did my jazz zine, Gone which I started in 1997.
During the late 80s I spent some time doing freelance writing for the paper where I still work today, doing occasional feature pieces, as well as a column in one of our weekly products that lasted for a little over a year. Though the experience was rewarding, I soon discovered that I wasn’t going to be able to write the way I wanted in a regular paper, so back I went into the underground.
It wasn’t until the late 90s, after a friend at work gave me a rudimental working knowledge of Front Page, that I first set foot onto the interwebs, with the web zine version of Gone (traces of which still remain in the ether). It wasn’t too long after that, that work started on the Funky16Corners web zine.
The web zine (which is still maintained as the Web Zine Archive) went on for 13 issues, and if you take the time to stop by you’ll find lots of interesting feature articles, discographies and interviews.
When I started the blog, it was not – as it would soon be – devoted to the sounds of soul and funk. In fact, the earliest posts on Funky16Corners closely resemble a format that would be resurrected in 2007 in my other blog, Iron Leg.
Though my first intent in blogging was to keep writing, the unintended by product, and probably the most interesting aspect of the whole deal is how it has taken my record collection and turned it from a room full of inanimate objects into a living, breathing thing. The collection has continued to expand unabated for many years, and more often than not, as new material has made its way into my life, it has also appeared in this space, and conversely, as things have been blogged about, my interests, and the variety of the music I dig for has expanded (and continues to grow), so the influence travels in both directions. The process of relating stories about the music I love, has expanded my collection, and the process of expanding my collection (and the knowledge associated with it) has enriched the blog.
A happy little circle to be sure.
The mix I bring you today, in celebration of the anniversary, and of the people that stop by here on the reg, was in fact suggested a while back (more than a year of memory serves, and sometimes it doesn’t) by a reader. When I decided to finally get this mix together, I went back into the vast heap of e-mail, but was unable to locate the original suggestion. Aside from the fact that it was a regular reader/commenter, I can’t remember who made the suggestion of an “all-chicken” mix, and for that I am remiss and I apologize (but still say Thanks!).
So, the “all chicken’ mix (or mostly chicken with a bonus side of poultry) is here. You might have seen some of these tunes here before (in fact you definitely have), but never before gathered together in the henhouse, or better, cooking in the frying pan and hitting the table alongside some greens, mac and sweet potato pie. Fried chicken may be the soul-iest soul food of all (apologies to the vege-ma-tarians), and I thought about making this mix ‘Soul Food Pt3’ but then I figured that with the hyphens and the subtitles and what not the name would never fit, so ‘Finger Lickin’ Good!’ it is.
That said, I want to thank those of you that have been coming here for a while, and say welcome to those that just started falling by. With any luck, we’ll still be here next year. As far as I know you can’t get laid of from the blog-o-mos-phere (not yet anyway).
I’ll be taking the rest of the week off to hit the road with the F16C fam. We’re going for some west and wewaxation.
I’ll see you all on Monday.

Peace
Larry

PS Make sure to stop by Iron Leg …

PSS Check out Paperback Rider as well

21 Responses to “Funky16Corners Radio v.60 – Finger Lickin’ Good b/w 4th Anniversary Mix!”

  1. david barsanti Says:

    thanks again for another great mix….
    have a relaxing vaca….
    keep the grooves coming…
    peace

    spinifex

  2. Double K Says:

    Fantastic mix! Love tha Bobby Rush 45 but the flip to that is my fav!

  3. Boom Star Pee Says:

    Thank you for this bucket full of crispy cuts! No need for hot sauce because this set is already so spicey.
    Peace and chickengrease!

  4. The Stepfather of Soul Says:

    Congrats on yet another anniversary and a great mix of funky chicken stuff!

  5. Sarita Ciarag Says:

    your blog is heaven to me… i’m a total ignorant when it comes to funk and soul names but this is mighty good for me… Please continue til infinity!

  6. Guy Magic Says:

    Larry,

    You are THE FUNKY BLOG-MEISTER extraordinaire!

    Congratulations go to you on your fourth anniversary, and bravo for always cookin’-up and serving the tastiest mixes on the blogesphere! You are the man, thank you.

    In groove we trust. . .

    Guy

  7. Mr Double Down Says:

    Larry

    Keep On Keepin On

    Mr Double Down

  8. planet mondo Says:

    Man Alive 4 years on and funkier than ever – it’s the secret ingredient of top quality cuts, masterclass mixes and spicy tunes that makes F16 such a taste experience

  9. Tony C Says:

    Insperational as ever Mr G.
    Congrats on four years of blistering tunes.
    Cheers Tony.

  10. alejandro Says:

    This is brilliant Larry! I was the one who suggested this poultry mix way back, don’t remember in what context, maybe The Hen post? Anyway, I feel honored!…Thought you had forgotten…Ever heard Leroy & The Drivers “The Sad Chicken”?

  11. funky16corners Says:

    Alejandro!
    Thanks for the idea. I have heard ‘The Sad Chicken’ but I don’t own a copy (verrrrry expensive record).
    L

  12. alonso ruvalcaba Says:

    congratulations, larry. i’ve been following funky16corners for three years, and i love it.

    thanks for the mix, too. curiously enough, we had a food related mp3 post some time back. hope you and your readers enjoy it:

    getting hungry

  13. Beau Says:

    Four years! Keep it up…great work as always!

  14. Beau Says:

    Four years! Keep it up…great work as always!

  15. maxwell Says:

    despite being a long-time vegetarian, I’m gonna dig into this mix like no one’s business! My only addition would be something from chicken n beer by BB King. Props on the legacy/history/longevity.

  16. RPM Says:

    Larry,

    Congratulations and thank you for four years of heartfelt writing, profound respect for all the hard working musicians, and of course,
    the amazing music. Funky 16 Corners sets the standard that every
    DJ and blogger with a good brain, a good soul, two good ears, and
    blood pumping in their veins strives to meet.

    I used to think, having listened to AM and FM radio during my
    youth in the 1970s, having read the magazines and books, having
    bought various vinyl reissues during the 1980s, having plugged away
    with CDs into the 1990s that I had…some idea…of what post WWII American popular music was all about.

    Turns out of course, I had only dipped my toe in the river.

    The more you and your dedicated brothers and sisters in the digging and DJ community take the time to post, the more we, your humble but eager audience realize that there’s an entire world of music and people of whom we’ve been completely ignorant. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised there are so many stories I’ve never heard, but I’m still staggered by how much creativity – genius really – had passed me by until people like you went to work and got the word out. I don’t think it’s an overstatement to say that I’ve learned as much about music from hanging around the Corners as I have from any book I’ve read.

    I see the other guests want to grab the mike, so I’ll just say, again, thank you. I hope your enthusiasm and energy remain high for a
    long time to come.

  17. Laurent Says:

    Dear Larry,

    Sincere congratulations to you for this really great blog that I was lucky to discover a couple of years back.
    May I suggest a topic for your great entries? What about something about the “double bass” and its use in rare grooves/funksoul tunes.
    I would this!!!!

  18. TG Chicago Says:

    Thank you so much for your work on this site!

    My favorite soul blogs used to be soul-sides and earfuzz, but as great as those are, I believe you have managed to win the top spot in my heart.

    Please keep up the fantastic work!

    FOUR MORE YEARS! FOUR MORE YEARS! (then forty more after that)

  19. jediwne Says:

    stumbled across this site and boy its the dogs bollocks.never would not have heard half these tunes if it were not for you and dj prestige.keep up the fantastic work and may you continue for many more yearts to come so that myself and others can enjoy the delights of this music that you put out.where i can i access the old mixes cos i cant get nothing off of z-share

  20. funky16corners Says:

    Jediwne
    Just click on the Funky16Corners Radio Podcast Archive link in the sidebar. All of the old mixes are in there.
    L

  21. Gregory E. Love Says:

    I’m a DJ and just happened onto this site. It’s great to know that there are many others out there with a love and enthusiasm for the music that laid the ground work for the music of today. I was in my teens when Carla Thomas, The Mighty Hannibal, Henry Lumpkin, Mary Wells, Calvin Arnold, Rufus Thomas, etc. were pumping out the music that is just being appreciated today. I’m one of those who will spend hours on end trying to locate music from the past whether it be LP’s, 45’s, cassettes, etc. It’s really great to read the background info regarding these artists and getting the history about these singers and musicians. It’s even been more interesting to find out that a lot of these artists were from my city, Atlanta, Ga. Keep up the good work.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers