Lee Moses – Reach Out, I’ll Be There

Example

Lee Moses

Example

Listen – Lee Moses – Reach Out, I’ll Be There – MP3″

Greetings all.

I’m back, maybe not at full speed, but back nonetheless.
The tune I bring you today is as close as I could get to the kind of explosive emotion I feel like expressing these days.
Between health problems and other serious, pending issues, I feel like kicking a hole in the wall (or the internet, as applies).
I’m not sure whether I said it here or over at Iron Leg, but despite all of the alligators snapping at my ass these days, working on the blogs is less a chore than necessary therapy, through which I get to work out some of the crap I’m dealing with (if only in the abstract).
Sometime last year (two thousand and ought seven to be exact) DJ Save One fell by to do a guest set at the Asbury Park 45 Sessions, and in the course of his very heavy set dropped a 45 that knocked me on my ass. I had never heard the record in question, but as soon as I hopped up by the decks to scope it out it went right to the top of my wish list, where it remained until earlier this year.
That record – ‘Reach Out, I’ll Be There’ by Lee Moses (which just happens to have a blistering flip side as well) – is one of the rawest soul 45s I’ve ever heard, sounding (even in the context of Moses’ other work) vaguely insane. ‘Reach Out..’ is one of those incredibly unique records that cries out for its own poly-hyphenate description, with elements of soul, funk, psychedelia, and garage punk jammed together, and occasionally at odds with one another in a two minute and forty five second explosion of energy that threatens to shatter the styrene onto which it was pressed. It sounds as if it were all recorded via a single microphone, with drums (and break, after break, after break), combo organ, guitar (Moses I assume) and vibes cascading like a rock slide, with someone (Moses again?) singing just loudly enough to register in the background.
There’s the feel of an inspired jam session to both sides of the 45, but after repeated listens it appears to be something more than that. Some 45s are the end result of huge amounts of planning and polish, holding in their grooves miniature epics (see Phil Spector and all of his various and sundry disciples), and you get the feeling no matter how fine the craft, what you’re getting is the fiftieth iteration of a good idea. Others, like ‘Reach Out…’, or Toussaint McCall’s ‘Shimmy’ are more like an aural snapshot, capturing a specific moment in time that could probably never be duplicated. That these moments made their way onto wax and out where consumers might get their hands (and ears) on them is – depending on the level of brilliance – occasionally miraculous (definitely in this instance).
I hope you dig it as much as I do, and I’ll be back with something for New Years Eve.

Peace

Larry

PS Don’t forget to head over to Iron Leg for something by the Cream

PSS Check out Paperback Rider as well.

9 Responses to “Lee Moses – Reach Out, I’ll Be There”

  1. LEO Says:

    Stay strong larry, there’s a lot of fans out here who need you healthy and posting !

    Happy new year….

  2. Lavi Hendin Says:

    Didn’t The Four Tops do the original “Reach Out?”

  3. funky16corners Says:

    Lavi
    They did. I suppose I took it for granted that you all knew that already.
    L

  4. Muskie Says:

    If you dig this search out the recent re-issued CD of Lee’s “Time and Place” one of my new top 10 CD’s of all time

  5. j epstein Says:

    Yeah, Muskie, that Lee Moses reissue is pretty hard to top for intensity and soulfulness. Add one vote here for that one.

    Larry, glad to hear you are on the mend a bit, it sounds like you had a scary hospital visit for damn sure. I’m sure the docs didn’t have to tell you the importance of a hip soundtrack to your fullest recovery!

    Best,

    -j

  6. djack Says:

    Hey Mr. Larry,
    Just now dropping by the blog for the first time in 2-3 weeks. That’s part of the way it is during the holidays, you get occupied with the seasonal stuff and get out of touch with the things and people (even if you don’t know them) who get you through all the other weeks of the year.

    Sorry to hear about the hospital visit, and sorry it happened at Christmas time to our Funky Santa who gives all year long. You sound like a man who takes care of every little bit of business except maybe letting himself be taken care of.

    As for Funky 16 Corners, I know that you know that we know, what it is. And that we dig what you’re doing, and dig more because you’re doing it, and so on. And that makes it worth doing.

    But here’s wishing a tiny fraction of all the positive vibrations you put out with these tunes and your words comes back to you in other ways. In which case you’ll be sitting pretty, for some time.

    Peace.

  7. red kelly Says:

    Sorry to hear about the kidney deal, bro… I’ve only got one of them suckers meself (friends say I should donate it to science!)… glad to see ya home and doing what you do best.

    …not sure if you heard yet, but Benny Gordon passed away on Christmas Eve. I know you’re a big fan.

    All the best to you and the family in the New Year.

    – red kelly

  8. darcy Says:

    Just caught up with your bad news on the kidney front. Glad to hear you are on the mend. Your ongoing dedication to this blog, especially in the circumstances, is amazing.

    Best wishes to you and your family for the New Year. Let’s hope it’s a funky one in the best sense.

  9. Stuart Says:

    I keep hearing (and loving) this at the monthly Soul-a-go-go nights in Melbourne but had so far been unable to find out who it was and track it down. After hearing it again last night at the Soul-a-go-go NYE bash I had another look this morning and here it is! Fantastic!
    Thanks
    Stuart

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

