Soul Tornados – Crazy Legs

Example

Example

The Soul Tornados/Toronados/Toranodoes (whatever…)
Photographed at the 1969 Akron, Ohio Tam’O Shanter Festival

Example

Listen – Soul Tornados – Crazy Legs – MP3″

Greetings all.

Hey hey hey and all that.

When I said that I’d be back on Friday with something funky, I wasn’t lying.
The tune I bring you today is one of the rarer 45s by a group that has appeared here at the Funky16Corners blog before (in Funky16Corners Radio v.27, Soul Organs Vol 1), albeit under another (slightly different) name. To paraphrase the mighty William who Shakes Spears, the name is the thing, but more on that in a moment.
Allow me to digress, so that I may share with you a tale of digging kismet. Back some months, not too long after my birthday, when I happened to have some cash burning a hole in my pocket, it was time for the mighty Asbury Park 45 Sessions.
Naturally, I packed up my traveling crates with the heat, hopped into the Japanese microbus and shot myself in the general direction of the seashore.
When I got there, I discovered that the 45 Killer was one of the guest selectors that night, and he had brought with him a box full of records to sell.
Now, with some people, this wouldn’t be such a big deal, but my man Mike packs the heat (the coming months will see several items procured from his crates), so I dug in with gusto and grabbed me some winners.
My personal favorite from the little expedition is tonight’s selection, ‘Crazy Legs’ by the Soul Tornados. It’s a solid, swaggering bit of organ funk with a big fat break and enough grease to get the dancers out of their seats and onto the floor.
Now, to the name thing.
The last time the group appeared here, it was as the Soul Toranodoes, and if you take the time to look around, you may very well find yourself looking at a 45 by the Soul Toronados. It matters not, because their all the same group, featuring Charles Heller (drums) Bobby Heller (organ), and James Smith (guitar). They hailed from the Rubber City of Akron, Ohio, and recorded three 45s for three different labels.
Two of those records were waxed for the Burt (Go For Yourself* b/w Funky Thing) and Magic City (Hot Pants Breakdown b/w Boot Groove) labels, both out of Detroit and owned by Eddie Burt. ‘Crazy Legs’ appeared as one side (backed with the excellent ‘Bobby’s Mood’) on the Westwood label (also home to the garage pop of the Lime, who were picked by by Chess) out of Canton, Ohio.
Anyhoo, as I said, ‘Crazy Legs’ (not the Donald Austin tune on Westbound) is a killer, and a fitting end to Hammond 45 week.
I hope you dig it (and the other cuts this week), and I’ll be back on Monday with something cool.
Peace

Larry

PS Don’t forget to head over to Iron Leg for something heavy by Leslie West

PSS Check out Paperback Rider which has finally been updated.

8 Responses to “Soul Tornados – Crazy Legs”

  1. W Says:

    Funky number! Thanks. W.

  2. Soul Tornados - Crazy Legs « Funky16Corners - AkronNews.org Says:

    [...] more from the original source: Soul Tornados – Crazy Legs « Funky16Corners Tags: charles-heller, chess, crazy, entry, paperback-rider, radio, soul, time, [...]

  3. Guy Magic Says:

    Woah, those are some crazy (but mighty fine) legs!

    Thanks for the Hammond grooves brutha, they’re always appreciated.

    Guy

  4. Marco in Brooklyn Says:

    yet again, you sir…man, you remind me of my folks in Missouri, who just don’t stop giving and giving. The drummer in me can never thank you enough for these precious grooves. Just the absolute best, man. Thanx a metric ton (and, of course, it’s western hemispherical equivalent).

  5. planet mondo Says:

    I Love this tune – perfect for the weekend – my heavy Hammond tune of the week has been Aphrodite’s Child – Magic Mirror belter

  6. funky16corners Says:

    PM
    I don’t know that one. I’ll have to check it out.
    L

  7. maita Says:

    woah… i’ve been following your blog for a while, then stopped, then caught up. i loved your past entries, how you are open about your struggles, and the music that pulls you through! thank you for giving so much – i am learning so much here!

  8. Keith Says:

    Wow! That was one really cool tune. Thanks for posting that for us here. Hope you’ve had a funky cool weekend.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

