Tony Fox – (I’ve Got To) Do It To It

Example

Tony Fox (I think…)

Example

Listen – Tony Fox – (I’ve Got To) Do It To It – MP3″

Greetings all.

The tune I bring you today is another one from DC digs pile.
I pulled ‘(I’ve Got To) Do It To It’ out of a stack of 45s, and though the name of the artist (Tony Fox) was a mystery to me, Calla is a well known soul label, and I would be a fool (as would anyone) to walk away from a record with a title like ‘(I’ve Got To) Do It To It’ without at least checking it out.
Good thing I did to, since it’s a great piece of soul on the way to funk.
That said, I haven’t been able to track down any info at all on Tony Fox, other than the fact that he recorded a second 45 for Calla, as well as sides for Tri-Spin, Moonshot, Mayfield, Emerald City and Mercury and may have been (though I cannot confirm this) been a member of the African Beavers. It’s driving me nuts that I haven’t been able to find out more about him, especially since he recorded for so many labels, probably well into the 80s.
That said, though Fox himself is something of a mystery, the song itself has an interesting history. According to the credits on the 45, ‘(I’ve Got To) Do It To It’ was written by Teddy Vann (who produced the Fox 45) and Calvin White. According to other sources (a comp of Calla recordings), it was in fact written by Vernon Harrell and JR Bailey*. The tune was also recorded (on Calla) by Harrell and the Sandpebbles** (though as far s I can tell their version may have been unreleased until much later), and – strangely enough – is not the same ‘Do It To It’ recorded on Calla by Bird Rollins.
In yet another twist, Vernon Harrell’s Wikipedia entry suggests that all three versions of ‘Do It To It’ share a backing track with the Coasters’ version of ‘Lovey Dovey’ (written by Ahmet Ertegun and Eddie Curtis and originally recorded by the Clovers), but although the tune is vaguely similar, it’s not the same track.
I can’t say with certainty who actually wrote ‘(I’ve Got To) Do It To It’ – if anyone knows for sure please let me know – but I can say that it is a burner.
I hope you dig it, and I’ll be back on Monday.

Peace

Larry

NOTE: Don’t forget to fall by Viva Internet Radio Tonight at 9PMEST for the latest edition of the Funky16Corners Radio Show. You can always check out the show (and many pastshows) in the archive.

Example

PS Don’t forget to head over to Iron Leg for some very groovy Hammond beat.

PSS Check out Paperback Rider which has finally been updated.

PSSS Don’t forget to hit up Funky16Corners on Facebook

9 Responses to “Tony Fox – (I’ve Got To) Do It To It”

  1. Mr Double Down Says:

    Top tune Larry!

    Mr DD

  2. Brian Phillips Says:

    Great song! I just played this on my show about two months ago. Thank you for posting a possible photo of him.

  3. andy Says:

    hello

    i had the pleasure of working with tony fox (outside of the music business) back in the early 90’s. i knew him as larry however as tony fox was the stage name of larry capel who produced and arranged and sung on an album called ‘the beginning'; the picture you have of larry is from that album.
    larry gave me a copy of the album on one of my visits to his new york city apartment which i still have. i have yet to convertit to mp3, however if you can get hold of a copy it is well worth a listen as it contains tracks that are similar or better than the above record which is not on the album.

  4. funky16corners Says:

    Andy
    Thanks for the info!
    Larry

  5. Jason Says:

    The song writer of (I’ve Got To) Do It To It, is Teddy Vann. Just listen to the chord structure on the horns. they are similar to the song Love Power by The Sandpebbles on Calla which is writted by Teddy Vann. Luther Vandross did a cover version of Love Power and Teddy Vann won a Grammy Award. You can hear Love Power at Fleamarketfunk web site

  6. sandy Says:

    As Tony Fox/Larry Capel’s fiancee for more than twenty years I can tell you that the information that you have gotten from Jason on May 20th is incorrect.

    Both I’ve Got to do it to it and Love Power were written by Tony. Not teddy van. However as things were back in the seventies when all this happened the credit was shared and subsequently stolen.

    I do have a copy of the album in the beginning as well as some of the original tapes that were made from that album. In addition I can tell you that I was with Tony the night that Luther Vandross and Teddy won the Grammy and it was not a happy night for Tony at all as you can well imagine.
    I do know all the background info on this artist obviously as I lived most of it with him and all I can say is that his recordings are wonderful but pale in comparison to his live performances. For those of us who were lucky enough to see him perform on stage he was nothing short of electrifying!!!
    Sandy

  7. andy Says:

    hello sandy

    where is larry these days, would love to contact him again?

    andy

  8. sandy Says:

    hello andy:
    Is there somewhere outside this site that I can contact you. perhaps and email address?
    I have not heard from Tony for a good number of years but usually am in touch with his family at this time of the year. I will see what I can find out.
    Sandy

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

