Eddie Bo 1930 – 2009

Example

The Mighty Eddie Bo

Example

Listen – Eddie Bo – Hook and Sling Pt1 – MP3″

Greetings all.

Less than an hour ago, Miles and I were out in the whip headed for some Chinese food when my man DJ Prestige hit me on the cell to let me know that the news had come down that the original king of Funky New Orleans, Mr. Eddie Bo, had just passed away at the age of 79.
If you’re an old school follower of the Funky16Corners thing, you know that for this digger, Eddie Bo is pretty much the man that started it all. There are a couple of funk sides to which I can trace my obsession with the sound, but none of them come remotely close to the impression left on my ears the first time I heard ‘Hook and Sling’.
To this day, it’s one of those 45s that I can spin over and over again without getting tired, and is always a guaranteed crowd pleaser.
Bo was one of the great ‘auteurs’ of New Orleans music, recording, composing, arranging and producing everything from old school R&B, to blues, soul and most importantly funk.
The music he made himself or with others has been a major part of the Funky16Corners experience, and to the limited extent that I haven’t presented the contents of my Eddie Bo collection herein, will continue to be.
I had a bunch of tracks planned for the coming week, but the passing of a giant must be noted accordingly. As a result, the coming week will be dedicated entirely to the work of Mr. Edwin Bocage of New Orleans, Louisiana.
The hour is late, and I have real world stuff I have to attend to this evening, but I could not let this sad occasion pass without sending you all a taste of what made this man a musical genius.
I’ll be back on Sunday (and continue through the rest of the week) with some classic Eddie Bo stuff.
He will be missed.

Peace

Larry

17 Responses to “Eddie Bo 1930 – 2009”

  1. planet mondo Says:

    Another legend lost – at least he got some recognition before he went here in the UK – Here Come The Girls was used in ad campaign and became heavily rotated tune over the last couple of years

  2. Victor Says:

    Sad day for the Funky 16 Corners followers like myself here in Shanghai. I’ve really got in to Eddie over the last few years thanks to you, he will be sadly missed, but his sounds live on

  3. Tony C Says:

    R.I.P. Mr Bocage

  4. Javibi Says:

    so sad morning….
    RIP soulmaster Eddie Bo

  5. funky16corners Says:

    PM
    Here Come the Girls was an Ernie K Doe/Allen Toussaint collab
    L

  6. Alejandro Says:

    Very sad. I have to thank you Larry as the first taste of mr Eddie Bo was through your website when I heard one of your funky nawlins mixes. It hit me like a thunderbolt and I immediately became a fan; trying to track Bo records since. There are so many favorites but that B side for Mary Jane Hooper “I Feel a Hurt” (with his organ intro) and the mighty “Funky, Yeah” come to mind. Long live Bo.

  7. Petey Says:

    I have yet to hear this song without a giant grin on my face. I bow to Eddie Bo.

  8. Dan Says:

    Let the tribute jammin’ begin! Look forward to more of yours, Larry. You and Martin over at soulgeneration have done more to boost Bo-consciousness (outside of New Orleans) than I ever could. Thanks for that, my man. Onward through the fog.

  9. funky16corners Says:

    Thanks Dan. I’m also looking forward to HOTG’s take on the legacy of the great Bo. I dug out a couple of unusual things today that I’ll be posting as the week goes on.
    L

  10. Vincent the Soul Chef Says:

    …a moment of silence…

    now time to go play my Funky Delicacies comps. I am forever grateful to you Larry for making me see the light. The city of New Orleans churned out some of the sickest jams I have ever heard.

    Rest in peace, Edwin.

  11. Ben Says:

    Eddie Bo, what a great honor it was to just listen to his music!

    I found out about Eddie Bo from a record by the Plump DJs entitled ‘The Funk Hits The Fan”, where they sampled and featured the vocal from “If it’s good to you, it’s good for you” and gave him writing credits for their track. That was 2003. To think, all this time Eddie Bo was 2 hours south of me in New Orleans! I had no idea of the immense talent that came from such a man who was basically my neighbor.

    The first and only time I got to see him perform was at Festival International in Lafayette LA. I was so excited that I would get to see him perform in my town…3 blocks from my house! I made a small sign that read “HOOK N SLING”. When Eddie saw me holding that sign, his eyes lit up with excitement and astonishment that here was this younger guy holding a sign that indicated that I understood and knew Eddie Bo music! He pointed the sign out to Red – his sax player and they chuckled with excitement. After the show my girlfriend and I met up with his wife Veronica and she allowed us backstage to meet him. I was ecstatic that I would get to meet and talk with such a huge part of the music I loved. Eddie was very nice, signed my Plump DJs 12 inch sleeve and took pics with us. What a day! I will never forget it.

    Eddie Bo, your spirit will live on in the music. RIP my funky friend!

    Ben Mullens
    DJ Moon

  12. funky16corners Says:

    Thanks for that great story Ben!

  13. Ben Says:

    Sure thing Larry.

    If I make it to his tribute event that they are discussing, I will take some pics so you guys can “be there”.

    Thanks for all of your hard work making people aware of the great talent of Eddie Bo. Much Respect!

    Ben

  14. Early Modern Notes » Saying farewell to Eddie Bo: get funked up now Says:

    [...] one. Who needs James Brown anyway?) Eddie and his Heavy Friends Pass out the Hatchets One Last Time Eddie Bo 1930-2009 (Or maybe it should be the track featured here, Hook and Sling. So hard to [...]

  15. Eddie Bo RIP | NetInfoWeb: Music & More... Says:

    [...] YouThree Faces Of Check Your BucketEddie & His Heavy FriendsPass Out The Hatchets One Last TimeEddie Bo 1930-2009Eddie Bo Let It RollYou can also read a superb discography of Eddie Bo’s music on Soul GenerationA [...]

  16. Chris Says:

    Thank goodness for Funky16! While I knew of Eddie Bo, I hadn’t really begun my true obsession with him and his influence on all the great soul and funk sides we know. You rightly highlight one of the most important men in music. And he seemed to be such a generous man, in the vein of Allen Toussaint, it would seem that Eddie loved helping others make music as much as he made himself. All I can say is “thank you Funky16 for making sure that the world knows and remembers this iconic man.” You rock! Eddie Bo LIVES!!!

  17. Magic Alex Says:

    Hook N Sling is the greatest dance record i’ve ever heard with the greatest drumming surely ever committed to tape. Hook N Sling Pt 2 is even better.

    Love Funky 16. Keep on keeping on

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

