Grant Green – James Brown Medley

Example

Grant Green

Example

Listen – Grant Green – James Brown Medley- MP3″

Greetings all.

How’s by you?
I’d like to get things started by wishing my man DJ Prestige a happy birthday as he rolls over the odometer to the big 40!
The wife and I spent Monday evening at the party, which was held at the Silverball Museum in Asbury Park, NJ. If you’re in the area you need to fall by the Museum, which houses an amazing collection of vintage pinball machines, almost all of which are active, i.e., you pay to get in and you can play the machine to your heart’s content, over and over again without ever having to pass a single coin through the slot. It was a mind boggling feast of classic pop culture and absolutely must be seen.
In other news it looks like I’ll be spinning a few different nights down in our nation’s capitol at the end of July, laying down a set as part of the Jazz Corner 5th anniversary party an the 29th (I’m going to have to break out some of my fave jazz funk LPs) and then again doing the main set on the 31st. If you’re in the area write this one on the calendar. The Jazz Corner’s crew (DJ Birdman and DC Digga) bring the serious heat. More details to follow as they become available.
The tune(s) I bring you today come to you courtesy of one of the true greats of the soul jazz guitar, Mr. Grant Green. I won’t belabor the biographical details, since a simple Google will bring you all the info you need. Suffice to say that through the 60s and 70s Green laid down his masterful playing on a grip of solo sessions, running the gamut from serious hard bop to funky grooves, as well as performing as one of the more prominent sidemen in the Blue Note stable.
Today’s selection hails from the 1971 Blue Note ‘Shades of Green’ session, which saw the master covering a fair amount of contemporary material including covers of Stevie Wonder and the Jackson 5, as well as three James Brown tunes (two of which are included in today’s medley).
The tunes in question ‘I Don’t Want Nobody To Give Me Nothing (Open Up the Door I’ll Get It Myself)’ and ‘Cold Sweat’ clock in at just under six minutes of tasty, head nodding funk. The interesting thing – aside from the obvious quality – is that Green was covering ‘I Don’t Want…’ for the second time in two years, having laid it down on 1969s blindingly good ‘Carryin’ On’, also for Blue Note (which can be heard in Funky16Corners Radio v.53).
The 1971 take on the tune is a little less aggressive, with the added benefit of some clavinet. The incredibly funky bass and drums come from a couple of moonlighting Crusaders, Wilton Felder and Stix Hooper respectively, and Green (of course) is in fine form. Things are pretty stripped down until a brief burst of horns in the transition to ‘Cold Sweat’, and then again toward the end of the medley.
If you get a chance to pick up the album, there is yet another JB cover on the other side, with a nice take on ‘In the Middle’.
As always, I hope you dig the tune, and I’ll be back on Friday with something groovy.

Peace

Larry

NOTE: Check out another Grant Green JB cover over at La Colmena de Huma (en Espanol)

PS Don’t forget to head over to Iron Leg .

PSS Check out Paperback Rider too.

PSSS Don’t forget to hit up Funky16Corners on Facebook

3 Responses to “Grant Green – James Brown Medley”

  1. alejandro Says:

    Wow. Telepathy. I posted on Sunday Green’s version of James Brown’s Ain’t It Funky. I even used a similar pic!
    I hadn’t heard these ones though. I’ve been listening a lot at his records and I’m particulalry liking The Live at Club Mozambique set from 1971.(Idris Muhammad on drums)
    Check Out the post: http://www.colmenadehumo.blogspot.com

  2. euclidcreek Says:

    Got to get this LP, I have got to hear Grant Green play Vince Guaraldi’s Cast Your Fate to the Wind, one of my all time favorite compositions. You should have heard Joe Walsh w/James Gang do their version, very nice. But how could you go wrong with the tune?

  3. Andy Says:

    Nice,Haven’t played any GG for a while but he is one of my favourites.Apart from a few bootlegs I have his complete catalogue either on vinyl,cd or digital download.Check out my site,currently stringing a few tunes together (not a master mixer!) upcoming playlists from The Crusaders,George Benson and Grant Green,Cheers.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

