Willie West – Said To Myself

Example

Mr. Willie West

Example

Listen/Download – Willie West – Said to Myself – MP3

Greetings all.
I figured I’d end the week with a fine bit of New Orleans heat, by the man, Willie West.
If you don’t know the name Willie West, you ought to since the records he recorded with Allen Toussaint during the 60s and 70s are unfadeable, especially the monstrous, downtempo groover ‘Fairchild’ (a record I chased for a long assed time).
I didn’t exactly chase this record, but once I heard it it lodged securely on my want list, and earlier this year I managed to score myself a nice copy.
The record in question, ‘I Said To Myself’ is a laid buck, but supremely funky Allen Toussaint arrangement (West wrote the song), on which Mr. West is joined by none other than the mighty Meters.
The record (from 1975*) has a great, percolating rhythm, punchy horns, and a refrain which has hints of Curtis Mayfield.
The Meters are, as always, in fine form, and the production is sharp and stylish.
I don’t think this has been comped yet so pull down the ones and zeros and get your groove on.
I’ll see you all on Monday.

Peace

Larry

*Thanks Alan

PS Don’t forget to head over to Iron Leg for a couple of tunes written by the great Ellie Greenwich.

PSS Check out Paperback Rider too.

PSSS Don’t forget to hit up Funky16Corners on Facebook

5 Responses to “Willie West – Said To Myself”

  1. Alan Says:

    What the Warner Brothers label suggests to me is that it was 1975, since that what it reads 3 lines below the song title. :)

  2. funky16corners Says:

    Oops….heh heh…Reading is indeed fundamental.
    L

  3. Steve Says:

    Has there ever been a full LP by Willie West? All I’ve found are 45′s here and there, like this one. It’s great stuff!

  4. funky16corners Says:

    Steve
    I believe that Willie has recorded a couple of full CDs in the last decade. Nothing from the 60s or 70s though.
    L

  5. Willie West & The High Society Brothers – The Devil Gives Me Everything |Steady Bloggin' Says:

    [...] To lighten the mood a bit, here’s a little bonus – a tune West recorded in 1975, produced by Allen Touissant with backing from the legendary Meters. This one is much more upbeat in mood, with a funky mid-tempo strut that swells to monstrously full ‘wall of sound’ proportions at the refrain. Link courtesy of funky16corners. [...]

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

