Funky16Corners Radio v.25.5 – Scream Mackula Scream!

Example

To hear this mix, head on over to the Funky16Corners Radio Podcast Archive

Funky16Corners Radio 25.5 – Scream Mackula Scream!Playlist
Kool & the Gang – Funky Man (De Lite)
Ron Holden – Need Ya (Now)
Jay Dee Bryant – Get It (Come and Get It) (Enjoy)
Chambers Brothers – Funky (CBS)
Joe & Everyday People – Sleep Walk Pt1 (Brooks)
Bronc Glows – The Charge (Bull City Sounds)
Lee Bates – International Playboy (Instant)
Fred Lowery, Big Bo & the Arrows – Ride the Iron Horse (Cotillion)
King Earnest Baker – Somebody Somewhere (Funk)
L’il Willie & the Rockin’ Imperials – Crazy Stomp (Golden)
Roy Hightower & Gant Green – False Advertising (Number One)
Nu Sound Express – Ain’t It Good Enough For You (Silver Dollar)
Barrett Strong – Stand Up & Cheer for the Preacher (Epic)
Otis Goodwin & the Casternetts – I Feel It (Just a Little Bit) (Jazz-EE)
Niteliters – Tanga Boo Gonk (RCA)
.

Hiedy-Ho, and a happy Monday to you.
I hope everyone had an excellent weekend, getting out of doors and soaking up some of that good, vitamin D enriched sunshine (and maybe a beer or two).
Things were mostly groovy hereabouts.
I got my windshield replaced, and the work week sailed to a fairly smooth close.
Then we decided to head down to the boardwalk for some family fun on Saturday.
While we were driving around in a fruitless search for a parking space, we stopped to let someone cross the street (it’s the law here in NJ) and we got rear-ended by some incoherent alter cocker, who, when my wife stepped out of the car to wave him over to the side of the road, hit her (albeit very slowly) with his giant old man cruising vessel (a Buick or some such).
Well…I put the car in park (it was my wife’s car this time) jumped out and went batshit, until I realized that this guy didn’t seem to have a firm grasp on reality (at least 80 if not 85 and very slow on the uptake), which is when I had my wife call the cops, in the hopes that they might get him off the road before he rode over the curb and plowed down a bunch of pedestrians.
So, the cops show up (on bicycles no less), and I explain to them that I’m less concerned about the condition of our car (just a scuffed bumper), than what Methuselah there might do if he were to continue down the busy street.
The police decided that they were going to cite him for something (they were waiting for their Sergeant to arrive to choose the offense, likely reckless driving) , and once we assured them we were all OK, they sent us on our merry way.
That was a hoot.
This evening we returned to the scene of the crime, but this time were successful in finding a place to park the car, and ended up sucking down some boardwalk pizza and taking Miles on the kiddie rides (filling me with nostalgia for the times I went on the rides in the late-60’s/pre-decrepitude Asbury Park). A good time was had by all, and I managed to get home in time to write this up.
Anyway…last week, when I had to take the day off to wait for the guys to show up and replace my windshield (they actually come to your house!), I put some of the downtime to use putting together a nice beginning-of-summer, meat and potatoes funk mix.
The title of this particular edition of Funky16Corners Radio came about by virtue of the fact that when I was fishing for sound samples to insert in the mix, I happened upon a long string of dialogue from ‘The Mack’ (one of the truly great pimp-sploitation flicks of the 70’s), as well as some crazy Blacula stuff (which I happened upon when I was trying to find the clip from the Simpsons where they see the commercial for the afternoon movie ‘Blacula Meets Black Dracula’ (see pic below). These were combined, and you can figure out the rest (at least I hope you can…).

Example

In short form, there are a couple of rarities here (‘Sleep Walk’, ‘Crazy Stomp’) mixed in with a grip of blue plate funk 45s* that any self-respecting funk fiend ought to make room for in their crates. It’s all engineered to move your funky butt, setting fire to your vacation bar-b-que, or to the beginning of another dreadful week working for the man.
Either way, I hope you dig it
I’m going to bed…
Peace
Larry

*Many of these 45s appeared over at the Funky16Corners web zine, so get to Googling if you require more info

PS There are some excellent new mixes up at Flea Market Funk and Fufu Stew. Check ‘em on out.

PSS The latest edition of the mighty Asbury Park 45 Sessions is approaching rapidly, and it behooves you – assuming you are within reasonable traveling distance (say 500 miles) – to git down, to get down this coming Friday (7/6) at the world famous Asbury Lanes.

7 Responses to “Funky16Corners Radio v.25.5 – Scream Mackula Scream!”

  1. D.J.P. Says:

    This one is really outta sight.

  2. rb Says:

    mix sounds most excellent, Larry- not just the selection, but the tones coming out of my reference system.

    I dug on Funky Man and INternational Playboy.

    Have a safe 4th.

    rb
    cratedig.blogspot.com

  3. funky16corners Says:

    Thanks RB
    I think I’m getting a little better at setting the overall levels before ripping to MP3.
    L

  4. Vincent Says:

    Yep, just when I thought it couldn’t get any better, it does! Spell it “f-u-n-k and otherwise!” As always, thanks again for the push – over 60 of your readers stopped by my place in the past two days. Absolutely phenomenal! The Funk 45 Radio request line has hundreds of blaxploitation radio ads that you may be interested in for future podcasts. I can hook you up with the particulars if you’re interested.

  5. Evan Says:

    Hey, Larry.
    Just came across a record I know nothing about, thought you might perhaps enlighten me. “A Taste of Soul – Songs Made Famous by Aretha” is the name of it, with “vocals by Annebelle” written in small letters right below. It has great versions of songs like “Soul Sister” and “Think”, even if they’re fairly close to the originals.
    The LP I picked up is from the brazilian Equipe label, but it says it’s originally from Alshire, which I never heard of before.
    I found it for five bucks, but it seems to be an expensive record, so it got me curious.
    Have you ever seen it? Do you know anything about it? Please share any knowledge you might have on it.
    There’s an image of the cover here:

  6. ephraim Says:

    Great mix! I dug the sound bites at the beginning as well as the tunes. The title theme reminded me of one of my favorite comedy bits: Richard Pryor’s “Wino Dealing with Dracula”. I don’t think any clips from it would’ve worked on a family-friendly mix, but if you haven’t heard it, you should check it out. (I can send you an mp3 if you want…) The first time I heard it I laughed so hard I nearly broke a rib.

  7. funky16corners Says:

    Evan
    I haven’t heard that record, but Alshire was one of those budget/rip-off labels that released a bunch of similar LPs. I wonder who the vocalist was?
    L

Comments are closed.


