Asbury Park 45 Sessions Friday 7/6

Example

That’s right kids, the Asbury Park 45 Sessions are back for another evening of pure heat, delivered exclusively in the 45 RPM format. All of the Asbury Park 45 Sessions crew will be there, as well as a return guest set from Cool Hands Luke, and a first time spot by DJ Devil Dick (with a name like that, how can you pass this up?).

I can assure you, that as always if you pass through the doors and drop your five spot, you are guaranteed an old fashioned funky ass-kicking, sure to leave you sweaty and with a smile on your face.

Remember, the World Famous Asbury Lanes feature not only the greatest DJ talent in this part of the hemisphere, but also bowling, and food (get yourself a basket of delicious, nutritious tater tots to go with your beer).

I hope to see you there.

On a blog-related note, this will be the last post until Monday. Every single one of us here at Funky16Corners headquarters has been nursing a shared summer cold, and the overall pall of misery hanging over us (not to mention chronic sleep deprivation) has prevented me from doing much of anything (though I did finish a short piece for Iron Leg).

I have a bunch of cool stuff in the hopper, and while I was pulling records for Friday, I grabbed a couple of very nice things for future posts.

I hope everyone had a safe holiday, and that your upcoming weekend is sunkissed and relaxing.

Peace

Larry

5 Responses to “Asbury Park 45 Sessions Friday 7/6”

  1. fleamarketfunk Says:

    yeah yeah oh yeah. i just dropped in to see what the condition of the 45 sessions was in, and guess what, she’s in great shape.

    see you friday night. should be a blast.

  2. Alejandro Says:

    Hey Larry,
    Your last post of Scream Mackula Scream is really one of the best. It really is a perfect summer soundtrack. Thanks, my 2 month old baby is digging it…Or at least I’m forcing her to. In any case it got me all inspired to start my own collection of 45. I have some but where do I start? Any good tips? Is EBAY a good place to shed some hard earned bucks? Let me know your thoughts and thanks again for getting me obssessed with this stuff. My wife sure thinks I’m a little mad.

  3. funky16corners Says:

    Alejandro
    I’m happy to hear you (and the baby) are digging the mix!
    I’ve been collecting for a long time, but the best places to start are record shows, flea markets/garage sales and the like. E-bay is OK, but you won’t find too many bargains there.
    Keep in mind that there are tons of excellent 45s that are affordable, and an almost equal amount of valuable ones that aren’t worth the money. Just listen a lot, follow your taste (and budget) and you’ll be OK.
    Larry

  4. Greg Says:

    great blog…
    i loved teh posts of hammond!

  5. Deborah Says:

    Larry

    All of the songs that my dad sang with the Tick Tocks and Huey Piano Smith and the Clowns are my favorites, but the ones that are at the top of the list for me are ‘Mary’, he wrote that for my mother and ‘Genevieve’, a song that would go on the most wanted list.

Comments are closed.


