10/3 Asbury Park 45 Sessions Recap

Example

Darrell Banks spinning, Lee Dorsey in the on-deck circle

Example

Listen – Rex Garvin – I Gotta Go Now (Up On the Floor)- MP3″

Mighty Hannibal – Jerkin’ the Dog (Shurfine)
Don Covay – Sookie Sookie (Atlantic)
Lee Moses – Day Tripper (Musicor)
Eddie Holland – Leaving Here (Motown)
Henry Lumpkin – Soul Is Takin’ Over (Buddah)
Billy Davis – Stanky Get Funky (Cobblestone)
Chuck Bernard – Indian Giver (Satellite)
Woody Carr – Peace Dance (Jerden)
Bill Sha-Rae – Let’s Do It Again (Triple B)
Jerry O – The Funky Chicken Yoke (Boo-Ga-Loo)
Rex Garvin & the Mighty Cravers – I Gotta Go Now (Up On the Floor) (Like)
Roy Lee Johnson – Boogaloo #3 (Josie)
Shadows of Knight – Shake (Team)
Barbara Banks – River of Tears (Veep)
Marvelettes – I’ll Keep On Holding On (Tamla)
Jean Wells – With My Love and What You’ve Got (Calla)
R. Dean Taylor- There’s a Ghost In My House (VIP)
Darrell Banks – Our Love Is In the Pocket (Revilot)
Lee Dorsey – Four Corners Pt1 (Amy)
NY Jets – The Funky Chicken (Tamboo)
Exotics – Boogaloo Investigator (Excello)
Roger & the Gypsies – Pass the Hatchet Pt1 (Seven B)

Greetings all.
Just a short note to let you know that the latest of the Asbury Park 45 Sessions went down last night.
It was – as always – a gas, with a monster set by new guest selector 45 Killer, and a wild set of old-school hip hop by DJ Devil Dick.
I figured I’d post the set list, and in an uncharacteristically rapid response to a reader request, I set up the digi-ma-tization station and re-ripped one of my Top 10 soul singles of all time, ‘I Gotta Go Now (Up On The Floor Now)’, which, in response to said request, I pulled from the crates and laid upon the assembled multitude last night.
I know you’ll dig it (see original write-up here), and I’ll be back on Monday with the latest edition of the Funky16Corners Radio Podcast.
Enjoy the rest of your weekend.
Peace
Larry

9 Responses to “10/3 Asbury Park 45 Sessions Recap”

  1. Vincent the Soul Chef Says:

    …and another one for the wish list🙂

    Looking forward to No. 58!

    Peace and blessings.

  2. j epstein Says:

    …I Feel Special …..

    THANKS!!!!

  3. ray Says:

    High energy funky tunes.
    I’ve got 13 out of the 22 (a good number from Funky16)
    Can’t believe there’s a Jerryo I’m missing..
    Got my work cut out for me!
    thanks larry
    Ray

  4. funky16corners Says:

    Ray
    That JerryO will soon be making an appearance here. Stay tuned.
    Larry

  5. Brian Marshall Says:

    I LOVE THIS RECORD! It’s one of the very best things I’ve heard here.

    What I’d like to know is how rare is this record? I’ve seen several copies of “Sock It To ‘Em, J.B.” but never this one. Is this a hard record to get? If it is, looks like I’ll have my work cut out for me.

  6. SoulBoogieAlex Says:

    I hope to make it across the pond one day for one of these sessions!

  7. funky16corners Says:

    Brian
    It’s not cheap. Copies in good condition run between 60 and 100 USD. I got my first (in bad coniditon) years ago for around 30, and then minted up a few years later for around 60.
    L

  8. devil dick Says:

    you guys are hardcore!
    great stuff as always larry and always a pleasure to hang!
    and thanks for the birthday beer!
    tommy aka devil dick

  9. j epstein Says:

    That’s a fantastic record, THANKS!!!

Comments are closed.


