Rex Garvin & the Mighty Cravers – Raw Funky b/w Funky16Corners On the Road

Example

Rex Garvin & the Mighty Cravers

Example

Listen – Rex Garvin & the Mighty Cravers – Raw Funky – MP3″

Greetings all.

I hope all is well with you as the magnetic center of the week approaches.
I was all groovy gravy until the Winter Warlock fell by and dropped like a foot of wet, heavy snow on my driveway, and then (you just knew an “and then” was coming, dincha??) to add insult to injury, causing even further injury (oh yes) my goddamn motherf@#& snowblower – which coincidentally hasn’t been started in two years (thanks in large part to an extended dearth of snow in our region) refused to cooperate (i.e. start) and I was forced to take the manual approach to snow removal which left my back, knees and shoulders shredded like wet tissue paper, so it’s something of a miracle that I can even type without breaking into tears (god bless pain medicine).
Anyway (dot dot dot)

Example

Example

Example

Now that the run on sentence is out of my system I must remind you that the end of this week will see myself and my man DJ Prestige packing our vinyl into the Funky16Corners-mobile (a sporty 2003 Honda Odyssey mini van with baby seats and kid garbage strewn about the floor) and motoring down to the nation’s capitol to spread some Asbury Park 45 Sessions style love with the vintage funk 45s, first at Moneytown (at Dahlak) in DC on Friday night 3/6 and then the following night (look at us we’re Grand Funk freaking Railroad) in Richmond, VA at Mercy! (at Cous Cous), two of the finest funk and soul parties below the line of Mason and Dixon.
This promises to be a very groovy experience as we love the vinyl thing, as well as the fact that we are going to be able to meet up with some old friends, new friends and such, and maybe (just maybe if sleep and energy allows) get in a touch of digging.
If you are within driving distance of either party it would be very cool if you would stop by and say howdy.
As a result of the travel and the plans and what not this will be the last post of the week. Because of that, I figured that the record in question should be something cool, so I reached into my bag of tricks (a la Felix) and pulled out a fairly recent acquisition.
The sounds of Rex Garvin and the Mighty Cravers has been featured herein several times in the past, mainly because one of those records – ‘I Gotta Go Now (Up On the Floor)’ – is one of my all time faves.
I’m always on the lookout for Rex Garvin sides I don’t have, and late last year, at one of the AP45 Sessions the 45 Killer brought down a box of sale stuff and in it was a copy of today’s selection, ‘Raw Funky’ by Mr Garvin and his Cravers.
Rex wasn’t lying when he named this song, on account of its being both raw and funky, with a taste of the James Brownian vibe plus a soupcon of something a little more free and chaotic (which is how Rex rolled) and the end result is most excellent.
Pull down the ones and zeros, slip on your dancing shoes and if your down in Ole Virginny, drop by and party with us. If you can’t be there in person, join us in spirit and cut yourself a rug on your home turf.
Have a great rest of the week and I’ll see you all on Monday.

Peace

Larry

NOTE: If that all wasn’t enough, don’t forget to fall by Viva Internet Radio Thursday night at 9PMEST for the latest edition of the Funky16Corners Radio Show. You can always check out the old shows in the archive.

Example

PS Don’t forget to head over to Iron Leg for a new edition of the Iron Leg Digital Trip Podcast…

PSS Check out Paperback Rider which has finally been updated.

PSSS Don’t forget to hit up Funky16Corners on Facebook

9 Responses to “Rex Garvin & the Mighty Cravers – Raw Funky b/w Funky16Corners On the Road”

  1. Alejandro Says:

    You read my mind. I’ve been playing all week my copy of Rex Garvin’s version of “Sock It To Em’ JB”, and now this comes along! Never heard this and it’s even better. Good luck on the road and thanks! By the way, do you know anything about the pseudo dub version of Sock it to ’em JB on the B side? (I have a LIKE pressing).

  2. whiteray Says:

    I empathize with your shoveling woes. It’s tough on a body.

  3. Vincent the Soul Chef Says:

    It’s times like these that make me glad I live in an apartment, but I do hope you’re feeling better.🙂

    We are gonna try and make it to DC and see you guys on Friday. Sound like you are gonna have a huge turnout.

  4. funky16corners Says:

    Vincent
    It’d be great to see you guys on Friday!
    L

  5. W Says:

    So good! Why doesn’t Rex Garvin get the respect he deserves? Thanks. W.

  6. Eric Beetner Says:

    I have been working 2 jobs for 5 weeks now so I have been away from my music blogs for too long. When I finally got back on an pulled down some of what you’ve put up lately it really reminded me of what an amazing service you provide so i just wanted to write to say thanks. Just digging on Raw Funky – this is MY kind of record. I have found so much obscure and wonderful treasures through you I can’t thank you enough.
    If work doesn’t keep me busy enough then my 2 year-old does (another on the way) but you should know that she has the coolest iTunes playlist of anyone of her little friends (and their parents) I think people miss out on what great kids music some of this stuff is. Molly (my girl) loves to bop around to (I got) Ants in my Pants, The Boo Boo Song, Eenie Meenie Gypsaleeni, any number of Lee Dorsey songs and I make sure to pepper in my all time fave, Joe Tex.
    If you’re ever short of a radio comp theme I say go with funk sides that work well as kids music. I could tell from experience what works (and I could get some new suggestions from you)
    Keep up the good work. Thanks again,
    Eric
    Los Angeles

  7. funky16corners Says:

    Eric
    That’s an outstanding idea! I’m going to have to start thinking about that one.
    Larry

  8. BRONX DIVA Says:

    MY FAV by-Thanks for the up REX GARVIN IS ‘she’s the queen of the go go” and The Other Man” two great cuts…am looking for more….thanks for the 411…bdiva

  9. BRONX DIVA Says:

    would like to have info on record conventions …when i get the news its over….did the Hearts have an album are they still performing and Rex Garvin who was a part of the fifties group any 411?

Comments are closed.


