Funky16Corners Guest Mix for Galactic Fractures

Example

To hear this mix, head on over to the Funky16Corners Guest Mix Archive

Greetings all.

I’d like to begin by sending out my deep and heartfelt thanks to those of you that donated during the 2009 Funky16Corners Pledge Drive. Thanks to your generosity I’ll be able to pay for the server space where all the Funky16Corners and Iron Leg files are stored, as well as the old-school Funky16Corners web zine. It makes me happy to know that there are folks out there that care enough about what I do here to toss something into the tip cup when the Pledge Drive comes along.
I’d like to start out the week with an unexpected little treat.
A few weeks back PJ Gray, who does the Galactic Fractures radio show on WMFO at Tufts University, and is a well known and respected club dj in the Boston area asked me if I’d put together another guest mix for his show and site (the first was almost exactly two years ago). I’m usually so busy working on mixes for Funky16Corners, that I tend to procrastinate when it comes to guest mixes, only because I’d like them not to duplicate the product herein.
Well, as is often the case, I found some extra time the other day(s) and managed to get the mix done, and in a nice bit of kismet PJ asked to run it this week. So, I present to you a smoking hour-long funk 45 mix whipped together with a soupcon of kung fu.
The mix in question – ’45 Fingers of Death’ features some old faves and a couple of recent acquisitions, and ought to provide enough energy to get the feet moving at your next soireee (or to keep your head nodding during your commute).
So, click on through to Galactic Fractures, check out ’45 Fingers of Death’ and then stick around to check out PJ’s past shows as well as a number of other guest mixes by serious heads like Cosmo Baker, PJ himself and a host of Boston-area collectors and DJs. Make sure you subscribe to his podcast as well.
I hope you dig it (I think you will) and I’ll be back on Wednesday with something cool.

In other important news, this Friday, June 12th sees the return of the Asbury Park 45 Sessions for the first, slamming all-45 banger of the summer. If you are in the vicinity, please fall by and say howdy.

Example

Peace (and thanks again)

Peace

Larry

PS Don’t forget to head over to Iron Leg for some sunny 60s pop.

NOTE: Don’t forget to check out the Funky16Corners feature over at the Dust and Grooves blog.

PSS Check out Paperback Rider too.

PSSS Don’t forget to hit up Funky16Corners on Facebook


