Gloria Lynne – If You Don’t Get It Yourself

Example

Miss Gloria Lynne

Example

Listen/Download -Gloria Lynne – If You Don’t Get It Yourself

Greetings all.
I hope everyone had a most excellent weekend, and that you all had a chance to pull down the two anniversary editions of the Funky16Corners Radio podcast. Thanks to everyone who stopped by to wish Funky16Corners well.
The fam and I just got back from a great little trip up north, where the Mrs and I got to split for a getaway of our own. In addition to lots of great food from the Asian subcontinent we both got in our respective digging, she for yarn and me for records. I managed to bag some very nice stuff for both the blogs, so watch this space for the results.
The tune I bring you today literally fell in my lap when it arrived as part of a large (200+) lot of 45s. I picked up the stack’o’wax so that I might get my mitts on a certain psych 45, and ended up getting a bunch of excellent stuff in the bargain with it.
The ‘bonus’ records included a grip of soul 45s as well as a couple of funkier things, one of which is today’s selection.
Gloria Lynne is one of those great journeywoman (journeyman just doesn’t seem right) singers who worked it out for decades in jazz, R&B and soulful sounds. Her discography reaches back into the early 50s, and included long stints with the Everest and Fontana labels.
The tune I bring you today was her sole 45 for the storied Canyon label (home to Chuck Carbo’s ‘Can I Be Your Squeeze’ among others) in 1970.
‘If You Don’t Get It Yourself’ is one of those records that is clearly soulful, fairly funky, but not so much as to qualify as out and out funk (working of course using the patented ‘I know it when I hear it’ scale). However, in addition to a fine vocal by Miss Lynne, the driving wheel in this particular number is a very funky guitar line that sounds as if it were produced by a graduate of the Leo Nocentelli College of Funky Knowledge. If the drums were just a tinier bit more syncopated one could be forgiven for assuming that the tune had been recorded in the Crescent City.
As it is, it’s something of a burner, and a 45 that I plan on bringing with me the next time the Asbury Park 45 Sessions crew converges on the Asbury Lanes (which is actually happening in mid-January).
I hope you dig it, and I’ll be back later in the week with something cool.

Peace

Larry

Example

Check out the Funky16Corners Store at Cafe Press

PS Head over to Iron Leg for something groovy from Enoch Light

PSS Check out Paperback Rider too.

PSSS Don’t forget to hit up Funky16Corners on Facebook


