Remembering Freddie McCoy

Example

The Great Freddie McCoy

Example

Listen/Download -Freddie McCoy – Funk Drops

Listen/Download -Freddie McCoy – My Babe

Listen/Download -Freddie McCoy – Pet Sounds

Greetings all.

I come to you today with a couple of tunes, posted in the memory of one of the great soul jazz vibists, Mr. Freddie McCoy. This post was originally planned for Wednesday, but I had to stop and take a minute to remember the great Willie Mitchell, so here we are today.
They also come to you courtesy of one of the stranger stories to find me since the inception of this blog.
Back in October of 2006 I posted one of my the most hypnotic numbers in McCoy’s catalog, the title track from his 1969 LP ‘Gimme Some’. Over the course of the next few years, the post drew some interesting comments, the most interesting being one from McCoy himself (then living in Morocco under the name Dit Ahmed Sofi) in May of this year.
Later that year he contacted me offline, telling me that he had some new music recorded (on guitar, no less) and asking of I knew someone who might be interested in putting it out.
About a month after that, someone posting with McCoy’s WordPress log-in left a message that he had passed away on September 27th.
Naturally, this alarmed the family members (his children, nieces and nephews) and ex-band member Chuck Purro, who had posted in, and were following the thread.
Very soon after the posting of the death notice, I received an e-mail (from McCoy’s account) informing me that he had in fact passed on and that I would receive further information as soon as possible.
It wasn’t until just before Christmas that his children posted a message on the blog that they had gotten in touch with his family in Morocco, and had confirmed his passing.
This is sad news, but especially so when you consider that McCoy was – at least in my opinion – the finest, purely “soul jazz” vibraphonist I’ve ever heard.
There were of course many vibists that traveled through the soul jazz genre, including masters like Cal Tjader, Bobby Hutcherson, Gary McFarland, Gary Burton, Johnny Lytle and past masters like Milt Jackson and Lionel Hampton, but none of them – despite many brilliant recordings – really found their home in that particular sound.
Freddie McCoy did.
Starting out as a sideman with Johnny Hammond Smith, Freddie McCoy recorded his first date as a leader n 1963, and his last in 1971 (almost all for Prestige*).
Working with a supporting cast that included Joanne Brackeen and Bernard Purdie, McCoy, like almost every jazzer not working exclusively on the “out” side, spent much of the 60s mixing his own original compositions with covers of contemporary pop and soul material. A survey of his albums (all out of print and some harder to find than others) reveals that while the results were occasionally pedestrian, they were also at times positively transcendant.
The (very) few details I have picked up about his post-recording years, suggest he spent some time living a quasi-hippy lifestyle in Hawaii (with some members of his band), spent time on an ashram in India, living his last days in North Africa.
1960s soul jazz was by and large the province of organists (a major focus here at the ‘Corners) and guitarists, with vibraphonists often working on the periphery as supporting players. Freddie McCoy took a skill rooted in hard bop, mixed it with rhythm and blues, soul, funk and even psychedelia and produced a truly unique sound that to this day has yet to receive its due.
Oddly enough, after first hearing that Freddie might have passed away, I started working on a mix (which will drop here in a week or two) of soul jazz vibes, that was to include a couple of prime tracks by him. It still will, but confirmation of his death made be dip back into the crates to record a few more cuts to post by themselves, and to pull one more – which had appeared here as part of a previous mix, and is a  particular fave – out of the archives.
The three tracks I bring you today by no means represent all facets of McCoy’s sound, but they should give you the impetus to go out and dig for more, and maybe (just maybe) some enterprising soul at a record company might be inspired to put together a comp of his finest work so that a new generation can groove to his sounds.
The first two tracks come from his 1966 ‘Funk Drops’ session for Prestige. The title cut features a repeating baritone sax figure (by Laurdine Patrick) against Joanne Brackeen’s organ and McCoy’s vibes. While not out and out funk, the sound here is well on its way in that direction, and is the kind of hard hitting stuff that Mods and their ilk have been sliding across dance floors to for decades.
The second track from that album is a reworking of Willie Dixon’s blues/r&b standard ‘My Babe’ which produces an even harder, even Modder dancers groove, with aggressive, choppy guitar by Napolean Allen kicking up the tempo.
The third and final track is something I included in Funky16Corners Radio v.32, Freddie McCoys sublime and absolutely brilliant cover of the Beach Boys’ ‘Pet Sounds’, recorded for his 1968 LP ‘Soul Yogi’. He takes the original, bumps up the tempo a few notches and really moves with Brian Wilson’s wonderful melody. The section of the recording towards the middle, where he starts to swing the tempo is a few, magical seconds of musical perfection that I absolutely live for. I always find myself giving this one repeat spins, and I think you will too.
That all said, take a moment to soak up the great music that Freddie McCoy gave us before he slipped the surly bonds of earth.
I hope you dig these sounds,and I’ll see you all on Friday.

Peace

Larry

*His last LP ‘Gimme Some’ was released on the Buddah subsidiary Cobblestone, but in his first reply to my original post he stated that he never actually recorded for that label. Whether or not those sessions were done for Prestige and then farmed out to the other label, I can’t say for sure. If anyone knows please drop me a line.

Example

Check out the Funky16Corners Store at Cafe Press

PS Head over to Iron Leg for some Washington, DC garage punk.

PSS Check out Paperback Rider too.

PSSS Don’t forget to hit up Funky16Corners on Facebook

8 Responses to “Remembering Freddie McCoy”

  1. themusicologist Says:

    some great sounds there Larry
    thanks
    themusicologist

  2. Jannis M. Fetter Says:

    To Larry,

    Thank you on behalf of all our family members for this wonderful posting pertaining to our loved one, Freddie McCoy. Any one wanting to contact the family can do so at our e-mail addresses which is in previous postings. Again, thank you for remembering him!

    Jannis M. Fetter

    • Kush Says:

      Hello Jannis, I cannot even begin to tell you what I am feeling, knowing that I am writing to a family member of Freddy. (Actually I am also very much family as far as Freddy is concerned) Let me tell you a bit more about myself and how I came to meet Freddy.
      In 1971 I got on a ship from a port near Kuala Lumpur heading for home-India. The next day we got to Penang, and Freddy got on, also heading for India. Then began, for me, a very important journey, more spiritual than anything else. We travelled to and in India for the next few months, and eventually I left him in Goa, India and went back to my home-town, Calcutta. After about 10 years, I think, I began to want to re-establish contact with him, and have been looking for him, off & on, ever since. If he has actually left the body that I last met him in, no matter. We will meet again, maybe in different bodies. In the meantime, I would really, really love to talk/communicate with anyone of you, from his family. I now live in vancouver, Canada, since the last 3/4 years. Please write to me, or send me your phone number so that I may call you.
      With lots of Love & Blessings……..Kush

  3. funky16corners Says:

    Jannis
    You’re quite welcome. I only wish I had had a chance to interview your father in depth. He had a unique sound and a very interesting career.
    Larry

  4. Johnny McCoy Says:

    Larry, Thank you man for that beautiful piece you wrote about my uncle whom I have idolized all my life. He and my father( his older brother) gave me a love for music I hold today and taught me not to be afraid to be different when thinking outside of the box. That’s what my uncle did with His music and I think it would be an honor to him if a recording of his best could be put out titled “The Genius of Freddie McCoy” because that is exactly what he was when it came to his music. I think his music was misunderstood, but that’s what happens when you are ahead of your time. Again on behalf of my family, I thank you. Peace. Johnny E. McCoy Jr.

  5. Ears for Eyes Says:

    Hello Larry,

    First off, I can’t imagine my life or music library without all the great tunes you post. It cerntainly has opened my eyes over the years, so thank you for all that you do to bring great music and associated information to the masses.

    I was just curious as to why, you didn’t include Billy Wooten in your list of prominent soul jazz vibist?

  6. HeavySoulBrutha DaveB. Says:

    Wonderful post! Freddie McCoy is a name I see a lot, but never checked out his music. Didn’t even know his instrument was the vibes, which I really dig. Thanks for doing what you are the best at and hipping me to this great artist.

    Peace and SOUL,
    Dave….

  7. choco Says:

    Excellent! Thanks for doing this…it’s really nice to know that I’m not alone on a lot of these things.

    regards,
    choco

Comments are closed.