Chuck Jackson & Maxine Brown – Hold On I’m Comin’

Example

Chuck Jackson & Maxine Brown

Example

Listen – Chuck Jackson & Maxine Brown – Hold On I’m Comin’ – MP3″

Greetings all.

It’s nice to see that we’ve all weathered another week here on the sphere.

In consideration of the weekend, and all of the opportunities it holds for catharsis, I thought I might close out the week with a taste of raw soul.

I’m ashamed to say that though I know the names of both Chuck Jackson and Maxine Brown both very well, I haven’t spent nearly enough time investigating their music.

I first heard today’s selection via an aircheck of none other than Sly Stone from back in his days as a San Fran radio personality. I don’t remember if he announced the artist, but either way it didn’t take long to figure out that the smoking Sam and Dave coverage was by the duet of Jackson and Brown.

Both Jackson (who had hits with ‘Any Day Now’ and ‘I Keep Forgetting’) and Brown recorded as solo artists, but between 1965 and 1967 they hit their stride as a duo, recording a grip of 45s (as well as a couple of LPs) for the Wand label.

Their version of ‘Hold On I’m Coming’ is taken at a slightly slower pace than the OG (which had been out for less than a year) , but Chuck and Maxine make up for it by laying on the heat as thickly as possible. Their vocals are top notch, and there’s a great, raw rhythm guitar running through the record.

I hope you dig it, and I’ll be back on Monday.

Peace

Larry

PS Don’t forget to head over to Iron Leg for something very trippy.

PSS Check out Paperback Rider which has finally been updated.

5 Responses to “Chuck Jackson & Maxine Brown – Hold On I’m Comin’”

  1. BostonBill Says:

    Excellent track — thank you. For that matter, thanks for all the other priceless tracks you post here. Very much appreciated out here in the ether of the interweb. Keep up the great work!

  2. gill Says:

    yes, the last tracks you posted are all excellent …. open my funky mind with these unknown tracks…. thank you so much
    from (frozen) paris, france

  3. jonder Says:

    GREAT article about Chuck Jackson here:

    http://www.oxfordamericanmag.com/content.cfm?ArticleID=415&Entry=CurrentIssue

  4. Lorrie Says:

    Oh man, thank you for posting this. My ex-husband used to play this in the 1970s and it was my first introduction to r&b/blues. I loved it, but lost the album when we split (it WAS his afterall). I’ve been looking for it for a long time; it was great to hear them again. Probably the only good flashback from that relationship. Thanks to jonder for the article.

  5. Monty_Burns Says:

    Thank you. Blessed with knowledge.

Comments are closed.