Betty Harris – Trouble With My Lover

Example

Miss Betty Harris

Example

Listen/Download – Betty Harris – Trouble With My Lover – MP3

Greetings all.

I’ll be uncharacteristically brief, since I’m in the middle of preparing for my trip down to DC (see flyers below) , still trying to get my strength back 100% and just living life.
The tune I bring you today is by one of my all time favorite female singers, Miss Betty Harris.
During the 60s and early 70s Harris, more often than not with the mighty Allen Toussaint, made some truly amazing records, including heartbreaking ballads, punchy soul and the monumental funk of ‘There’s a Break In the Road’.
If you’re interested in the whole Betty Harris story, run on over to the Funky16Corners web zine for the article I wrote about her some years ago.
Today’s selection is a transitional record of sorts, in that while it’s not ‘funky’, it is most certainly ‘funky’, enough so that I wouldn’t hesitate to give it a spin for a roomful of dancers. The song in question, ‘Trouble With My Lover’ is in my opinion Harris’ sexiest performance and the arrangement by Toussaint is wide open with a thick, syrupy vibe like riverbottom mud (dig that bass guitar).
It’s a classic, and if you’re not acquainted with Miss Harris’ wider oeuvre, might It suggest that you either start digging for the vinyl or – more conveniently – seek out a comp of her stuff which is uniformly excellent (make sure to check out her early Jubilee stuff as well).
I’ll try to post before I hit the road. If I don’t, and you’re in the DC area, try to stop by and say hello.

Peace

Larry

Example

Example

PS Don’t forget to head over to Iron Leg for a Lovin’ Spoonful cover .

PSS Check out Paperback Rider too.

PSSS Don’t forget to hit up Funky16Corners on Facebook

2 Responses to “Betty Harris – Trouble With My Lover”

  1. Keith Says:

    I love Betty. Very cool. Hope you have a good time in DC.

  2. Vincent the Soul Chef Says:

    Damn! We’re gonna be in DC on Thursday for the Gov’t Mule show… if for some strange reason you have some time to kill on Friday before the gig, or if you plan to stick around on Saturday please look us up 🙂

    Hope you’re feeling better.

    Peace and blessings.

Comments are closed.